Late night blog. And the late night blog that brought me to @Helpie 7 months ago.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Well, I wanted to do a late night blog right now, because it's late and I can't sleep, and writing helps me to fall asleep. That sounds funny when I type it out loud like that.

I thought I would , for fun, go back and read one of my earliest "late night" blogs and see what I wrote. And, wow.. I found the most important one of all.

Check it out, if you'd like. I was kinda angsty. I remember thinking it would be my last post here. And then, a little hero appeared in a comment.

Hi. Late night blog - Open mic and asteroids and stuff.

paintingangels (61) in life • 7 months ago

So hey. I don't know. Just kinda wanted to say hi to anyone who is a musician and finding their way into this little corner of the world on steemit. I keep likening it to a little coffeehouse, the kind with live music. Songwriters rounds and open mics.

I've been trying to go through and listen to all the entries for open mic, and follow all the musicians, but my bandwidth keeps running out and then I can't do crap as far as socializing and following people.

And I've been listening to artists at DSound for this showcase blog I'm working on that I posted about, and already picked my first few favorite songs to feature. But here's my problem I'm having with DSound.. I'm having a really difficult time finding actual singer/songwriters. Why is that so hard? I don't mean to sound like I'm shunning all the beautiful poetry and instrumentals and keyboard mixes and stuff, because those things are cool, too. But I really want to find songwriters. It's why I've fallen in love with this open mic community. You guys are so cool.

Also, what is this discourse chatting thing? I've been invited by several people (and I send thank you to those friends!) but it always intimidates me when I open up the app. I don't know why. I'm so weird and paranoid. I read that it's like skype, and I'm not a fan of skype. I don't want to video chat with people. Once I accidentally facetime called my husband and I freaked out. I was like, wth?? Can you please not stare up my nose for a second while I figure out how to turn this stupid thing off? And then I hung up on him.

I'm really sleepy so I'm going to go now. I just wanted to say hi. So hi. Howdy. Hello to you. Goodnight. Goodbye. I will see you later, maybe. Maybe we'll just all be exploded by asteroids before morning. Sometimes I wish for that to happen. Asteroids destroy us all. You think i'm kidding but I'm not. We'd get all sent to the other side. I could see my grandparents again. Asteroids are our friends. Trust me.

And then, there came this comment:


@meno (69) 7 months ago

Hello @paintingangels I've taken the liberty to do a little something something without you asking. I've delegated you some steem power, so that you don't run out of bandwidth and are able to interact a little more on this platform.

That being said, because I did read what you have written on here, let me put it this way. Me and a group of really good people have started a server, a discord server, where everyone is friendly and supportive, with the aim of bringing some good people together. There are no videos, just text, and some silly jokes every now and then.

In this server, we discuss ideas, come up with some collaborations and sometimes even get ridiculous, but its all in the spirit of sharing, all in the spirit of fun.

I realize Steem can seem at times like this giant ocean, confusing, with only a few lotto tickets to maybe.. just maybe get noticed... that is why I've invited you.. I want to show you, there are a few of us who do notice... who do care.

I'll leave my little delegation until you don't need it anymore, once you've collected some good steempower from this upcoming posts, the bandwidth issue will be a thing of the past.

ps.- i agree on the asteroids front.


How sweet was that? And so I followed him over to @helpie.. and now, 7 months later, I am actually a scout for the group, and I just love that little family so very much. If you'd ever like to know more about it, you can stop by the @helpie page by clicking any one of these little green words that says @helpie. Like this: @helpie. You're also about to hear me talk about it in my footer below.

Goodnight all. Thanks for walking down memory lane with me. And much love to you, @Meno.. for showing me such kindness and guidance during my earliest steemfrustrations, and actually pretty through much just about all of them since then. I love all of you helpinauts out there.

In fact, I love ALL of you out there. All of ya. Period. If you wanna come over to @helpie with me, just let me know. We'll talk about it. I'm a scout. Did I say that already? I'm too tired to proofread.

Well, anyway.. I am on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668. Come and talk to me. It really is a family, though. You can't just walk in and be all about "me me me me." Helpie is about the other people. Everything else just kinda falls into place.

images.png

I am a proud member of @helpie

@helpie is now a w i t n e s s
♥ please consider gifting your vote to us ♥
images.png

Picture ©2018 @paintingangels

Sort:  

And I am so glad you stayed around to give us cookies.

By the way I am haunted by that solitary swing

opened the post because of the photo :) really like it. but stayed for the read. Writing here is doing the opposite for me (its 4AM here now).
And i am not sure if i want to be hit by an asteroid. but i do like meteors, when they shine and miss me :)

I remember what it was like to be delegated for the first time to be able to expand a little bit more beyond the bandwidth wall. @eonwarped was my first. I met him through another discord channel called The Crypto Empire. That was a huge step for me and little did I know that it was going to expand the steemit and discord world so much more.
The Helpie channel is my go to channel. I feel most comfortable there to chat with people where I don't feel like I'm a complete idiot. My awkwardness is welcomed there and I can really be open to people there too. And thanks to you my friend, I am a member of that wonderful place. I was excited to have seen that Eon was there too and then more people I knew.
It's nice to go back every now and then. It reminds us of so much. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97