WILL THESE SHEEP HAVE TO GO?

in #life5 years ago

Life is full of hard decisions...


As with my skills and time, my resources are often limited. Our land is only so big, and therefore it can only support so many animals. I think goat milk will be easier than cow milk since goats are a more manageable size, and I also think that we'll be having to choose which variety of sheep we want. Right now we have both Jacob's Sheep and Shetland/Finnsheep, but that require two breeding rams (one of each) and more space.

Our land is still rather raw, and we haven't built up our pastures too much. While these wooly Shetland/Finnsheep are some amazing and friendly beasts, I honestly prefer the peculiar four-horned Jacob's Sheep, and we are leaning towards that variety of sheep as being the best ones for our homestead. In preparation for the potential departure of the Sheland/Finnsheep, I enjoyed some time with them yesterday and took a couple of photos. Here they are. Enjoy!

SHETLAND/FINNSHEEP PHOTOS

Until next time…

STEEMIT LIKE YOU MEAN IT!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

why the preference in variety of sheep? aesthetics? or is there gains in efficiency?

I think the Jacob's sheep are better for a few reasons. Wool color, horns, hardiness, etc.

I wish I had the land to have live stock, the idea of a farm aimed at sequestering carbon and making unproductive land productive is a pipe dream of mine. Would love to do it in a desert ;)

@cryptohustlin desert living is it's own peculiar challenge. I live in So. Nv and it is a struggle just to get "Lavender and Jasmine" to grow. Tumble Weeds grow very well, though (hahaha) Currently I am trying out setting up artificial cisterns in various places that will hold water instead of running off. Good Luck yourself with plans..

There are for sure alot of struggles that's most of the beauty of it :)

A local lady raises Jacob sheep and I love them. Those extra horns make me feel like I'm looking at a critter from the book of Revelation. Glad people are keeping the breed going.

LOL - Indeed! I like the interesting look too!

I must admit PP that I wish I was much closer ande my own pasture situation was better. Living in the desert kinda makes it tough to get pasturage set up. Good luck with the selling!!

Are you going to sell them or eat them?

Try to sell first....

How long can you wait before you will have to eat them?

We'll see. Might have some upcoming home possibilities in the works.

I have been pairing down on my animal numbers this year as well. Time, resources, ambition, and need have altered my vision a bit recently and I am finding it a bit easier to have less to worry about.

Same here. Glad to hear I'm not alone, LOL.

An occasional purge is essential in maintaining an orderly farm. Cycle the genetics, the land use/impact, and the tastes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95