You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My beef with mainstream culture

in #life5 years ago

"Every time they turn on the TV and tweet about some hot topic, they are giving energy to that culture which may or may not (often times is not) representative of who they are."

^THIS.

I fully agree with your sentiments here, building the tribe I want to live with over the next 2 decades. Concensus is fine but experience taught me that the starting group of people already have to vibe really well together. Then magic really happens and culture is created on our own in meeting and establishing new areas of culture - unimpacted by the shady culture manipulators of the empire.

Sort:  

True, community is the answer to a lot of problems, but when you force a community with people who aren't on the same wavelength, sometimes it creates problems too. Best to have different tribes for different kinds of people with some members who function as ambassoders

Aye, I think this is where this whole thing is going, speaking of the steem community.
It always puts things into perspective when I see that other chains also have major problems. Makes me think maybe steem is on a decent path after all.

Speaking of which, there is this drugwars game that opens up a whole array of possibilities, and it's taking the blockchain world by storm. All without any need for a proposal system thingie ;)

https://steemit.com/steem-evolution/@paradigmprospect/if-you-dig-strategy-games-and-steem-you-have-to-come-check-out-this-drugwars-game-today-c8cef7a5b9255est

edit: guess that comment would have been better under your other post, sorry

I think a lot of the problems come from certain ideological baggage that people are bringing into these new technologies. Everyone wants freedom but then some take advantage of it. Then others say it's impossible. I believe it is possible but not without a sufficient amount of preparation and the challenging of certain ideas.

I wonder how this idea of "relocating" some of the funds from author rewards would go over if it was called a "tax", considering how many libertarians are here.

I'm fine with being taxed if I feel the system respresents my values...which I do not. Is it better than elsewhere? At least it's something new!

Aye, it does feel like a tax at first. However I'm thrilled to say the latest state of steem podcast with ned was really really awesome. I think I can finally get to trusting the man a bit more, I feel it was very genuine. Maybe because so much of the pressure is off his shoulders now, go check it out if you haven't. The SPS discussion is towards the later part of the podcast (see description)
https://steemit.com/dtube/@pennsif/nfz365i0

Seeing the scalability issues on EOS and other chains, suddenly I find Steem to be very well on its course. Maybe there will be a mighty happy end here after all <3

Much love dude!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85