Sort:  

I really hate our electoral college system. So did Trump until it gave him the presidency. I had a hard time voting for Hillary - never liked her - but i was terrified of what would happen. So far it is worse than I expected. Every day I see and hear people around me doing awful things to others just because of their race, ethnicity, or religion. I used to see it maybe twice a year. Now it is every single day. America can't and won't survive this. I am pretty sure that if this continues i will have to leave. Luckily I can. Most can't without losing everything. I am loading up on crypto now in preparation.

Where will you go? Are you a progressive? Do you oppose free speech or support it?

I am lucky in that i am self supporting. My husband is currently in Italy caring for his dad, so it is an option but not one i care for. His mother is Nigerian - he is mixed race, obviously - but that is a big no. He interned in Canada after medical school so that isnt a problem. His brother is also a cardiologist living in France so it is a maybe. I lived in Mexico and sailed around the virgin islands, turks, bahamas, etc for 7 months so they are options. My family came to north america in 1721 with a grant from the king so leaving would be odd but it may be time since I am a gay man living in Georgia and married to a mixed race dual citizenship surgeon ready to give up one.
I support free speech but i do not support what i see coming as a historian - specialized in American cultural history, the american south, the rise of modern america, confederate mythology - aka moonlight and magnolias, public history, and worked for the state in documenting racial history. State and National awards for research on antebellum and early twentieth century Georgia history. Also, my great grandfather was one of Leo Franks Lynchers - I know historical patterns, to say the least. He is the one with spectacles and mustache with hat next to innocent Jew. HH Looney - Marietta Chief of Police who got Frank released so that the lynch mob could drive over and abduct him.

Well, turns out that you cannot be progressive and support free speech so you will have to choose

In world history what happens historically after people are stripped of their guns and right to free speech?

Did you see the spike in Trump's approval rating among Hispanics?

You obviously never took a critical thinking class at university. Nobody on the left is suggesting either. Also, arguing with a historian about history is a fool's game.
Yes, i did see the bump in some polls. You trust polls now? And no, there is no consensus of the polls. Did you see that Cuban Americans have flipped back to Dem? That puts Florida in play for 2018/2020.

You obviously never took a critical thinking class at university.

Wrong, although I don't think I ever took a course called "critical thinking" I did take many courses in logic and philosophy. so you made one incorrect assumption, how did that happen? can you analyze your thought process and determine how you came to the wrong conclusion?

Nobody on the left is suggesting either.

Wrong again, now I know you didn't bother to click the link, too bad, because if you had you wouldn't make such a foolish claim.
here is an excerpt from the article you didn't read

The title of the article asked, “Can Free Speech Be Progressive?”
“The answer,” the article said, “is no.”

Also, arguing with a historian about history is a fool's game.

I asked a question.

Yes, i did see the bump in some polls. You trust polls now? And no, there is no consensus of the polls. Did you see that Cuban Americans have flipped back to Dem? That puts Florida in play for 2018/2020.

I am sure we never discussed whether I "trust" polls or not, where did that come from?

You asked a leading question off topic - guns. Did you even read the article?
Polls, I saw you on another's post - I believe it was one with you bashing lgbt rights.
And yes you have every right to free speech. The majority on the left do not wish to abolish amendments. You also have the right to consequences for free speech. I doxx. I happily got a school teacher fired with video of him at a Proud Boys meeting. He had the right to his speech, i had the right to share, and the school had the right to fire him.

Polls, I saw you on another's post - I believe it was one with you bashing lgbt rights.

No such post exists. I have never bashed anyone's rights. But feel free to post a link to whatever you are talking about, or stop making things up.

And yes you have every right to free speech. The majority on the left do not wish to abolish amendments.

Progressives have decided that free speech is not progressive. So you are going to have to either not support progressives or continue to support them even though you disagree. At least as long as you have free speech, if they get their way, then disagreement won't be allowed.

You also have the right to consequences for free speech. I doxx.

Oh? Are you threatening me?

I happily got a school teacher fired with video of him at a Proud Boys meeting. He had the right to his speech, i had the right to share, and the school had the right to fire him.

Are you a Proud Boy?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83