Vegan Cheese, Skirts, Horse Manure, and Hummus

in #life6 years ago

I thought it would be fun to start writing blog posts reflecting on my week and what we have going on, much like I do on youtube with my This~N~That videos. I will continue to write how to's and share recipes though and I apologize my time has been so precious I have had little time to do much in here but am going to try to knuckle down and get at least one post out a week again.
IMG_3240.JPG

My skirts are still selling like hotcakes and today I just sold my Farm Girl Patchwork Skirt on my Etsy store. I have already started working on a Spring Time Pastels skirt that I may be able to get finished and listed by Monday. It is always fun for me creating a new look. It is a chance for me to express artistic side that in my teens through young adulthood use to be through pen and ink, oil pastels, and paints but now is in the form of fabrics and yarn. What I like to refer to as Wearable Art.

Cashew Cheese.JPG
I made my second batch of vegan cream cheese which really just started on a whim one day when straining out some cashew milk. It turned out SO good and is a super easy recipe. My favorite thing to do with it is use it as a spread rolled up in an organic nori sheet.

I did shoot a video and will have that coming out in about a week. I will also write a follow up blog and recipe so be watching for that in the near future.

It is actually not raining today for the first time in what seems forever and am hoping it holds off long enough for Mr. Rain to bring me the first few loads of horse manure I need for my gardens. One thing he has started doing in bits here and there between the rains is putting in more posts around the main garden area so he can close it in to keep the chickens out during the early growing season.

Getting the itch to start gardening but really need a stretch of nice weather to do so as it can be pretty muddy here this time of year.
IMG_2944.JPG

The chickens are doing good and staying busy tilling up our garden areas and getting all the pests therein. Even though the days have been getting longer again, I have not seen an increase in their egg production yet. I chalk that up to the constant cloud cover and rain we have this time of year but hopefully soon they will get enough light to really start beefing up their production again. There is no reason to complain anyway, they have been giving us enough eggs to prevent me from having to dip into the ones I froze during the summer and once they pick up again, I plan on preserving for more to get us through next winter.

I have also been having fun making some things I have not made in awhile such as hummus and my own multi grain and seed crackers. SO good!

Here is the video on the hummus and I will have the cracker video and recipe coming out soon:

Well, better get back to work - I hear Mr. starting up the backhoe to go get me that horse manure so that means I will have some poo to spread today. YAY! Hope you all are having wonderful weekend! ~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Good to see you out here again! Homestead life never slows down, does it? I have been somewhat hard-pressed to find time to do online things at the moment, so I can understand! Also, I love that homesteader folks can say a heartfelt "Yay" when it comes to poop-on-the-garden time, haha!

I, like many others, love your skirt designs. I actually have a nearly-finished one sitting on my art desk, because I got inspired after looking at yours! It's not as neatly done (I'm still quite the sewing novice) but its wearable!

So, you purposely freeze eggs for the winter? Have you made a video or post on that? I only had one hen lay eggs this winter, but when we moved her to the new, bigger coop, she shut down like the others. I miss using eggs, and would love to know how to put away the summer's bounty for the winter!

I did do a video on how I freeze eggs. I may try some other methods this year involving the silicone muffin cups but the scrambling and freezing in food saver bags works really well with no freezer burn like happened when I did the ice tray method

I love vegan food, they are healthy and more nutritious. Looking at those chickens, 23 ways of how to make a dish out of them came into my head. Don't be angry about that.

You got me at vegan cheese and hummus. they both look so delcious. Seems like you had a wonderful week!

Great post @raincountry I look forward to the recipes! I hope the weather plays out well for you as it is raining here in Virginia and I'm not getting anything accomplished outside yet, but hopefully next week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64693.66
ETH 2975.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70