You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Letting Go and Moving On... Eventually

in #life6 years ago

After visiting the bay area for my birthday a few years ago I have always enjoyed the thought of living their full time. Unfortunately, I don't think it is very feasible since it is so expensive.

I read an article that spoke about how the high housing cost will slowly force out the individuals who are part of the support structure of the city (teachers, firemen, cops, etc..) leaving a major void. I would be curious to hear what city officials are doing to counteract this issue.

I wish happiness for you on your journey to your new home. As you said yourself you will grow to love the things and the people of this new place in time. Then when your spirit begins to lead you somewhere new you will repeat the cycle while looking back and reminiscing about the feelings you had when you first arrived.

Sort:  

It is ridiculously expensive here, and that's the sole reason I'm leaving and trying to get my friends to also. I see so much struggle here, and people feel trapped because everyone they know is here after all these years. But life is so much less stressful when you can easily earn for your physical needs and have cushion left to know that there is really no such thing as a financial "emergency" anymore, just expected and unexpected events.

But an area can't have everyone leave who isn't making mid-6-figures. You can't have no teachers, public safety workers, waitresses, etc. They have got to figure something out. But in the meantime, I'm retiring on an acre of land that I can buy with cash. Gotta do what I can for the one I can do it for.

That does sound like quite the dilemma. Kudos to you though for recognizing the unnecessary strain that the city's economy was putting on you. It's almost like knowing you are in a bad relationship, but since you have been together with the person for so long you convince yourself it is easier to stay than start all over.

The true friends you have made will stay in touch and even visit your peaceful plot of land when they get the opportunity. In the end be grateful for what the city gave to you and cherish those memories as life has decided it is time to go make more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67