You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Planet Blows My Mind

in #life6 years ago

Another fascinating thing I've learned since moving here is that where there is now desert in NM, there used to be ocean!

Thats pretty cool I wasn't aware of that either. I heard on a podcast not too long ago that we have only explored like 5% of the ocean's floors. Imagine what could possible be down there that we haven't discovered yet.

Sort:  

It really is something juicy to think about, isn't it? The ocean is like another planet, in so many ways. At least in terms of what we take for granted as "reality" up here on land.

Oh for sure! It's weird too because there's always support and excitement towards exploring space, but rarely the same enthusiasm for exploring the ocean which we have much better access to.

I know there are some projects right now working to map the entire ocean floor with sonar technology for some of the reasons stated below. This particular project said they expect it to take 13 years if they can enlist the help of around 100 ships.

The shape of the ocean floor helps determine weather patterns, when and where tsunamis will strike and management of fisheries that feed millions.

You're making me think more about seeing if someday I can learn to scuba dive. I'm a terrible swimmer (can never breathe well enough and tend to sink) but with scuba you have a breathing tank and are supposed to sink, so maybe!

My husband took me snorkeling at Penecamp when we were 18. I told him it really freaked me out, but he promised me that once I was out there I would be amazed. But it actually creeped me out too much. I have some weird phobia of fish and sea life and the sea.

LOL, well sometimes we know ourselves best! Your husband I'm sure thought you'd have fun. My phobia used to be of the water itself, as in drowning. I eventually learned that it was a rational fear not a phobia, because I truly was a terrible swimmer.

Ha ha ha. Man, I love swimming. I love lakes! There's this beach in Minneapolis named Bare Ass Beach. (Yes, it's a nude beach, and no we didn't go nude, but I did try some topless floating since it was just my partner and my good friend there. 🙂) But anyway, the lake it's on is so frickin' clear. And I swam alllllllll the way across it. It's the most peaceful things ever. Lakes. Yes.

Oceans. Noppppppe.

I have never scuba dived myself. Only snorkeling in Guam for me, which I enjoyed a lot. I always like the idea of free diving, but that's something I would have to train for in order to get any enjoyment out of it.

The ocean is like another planet

That's why it creeps me out to go in it! It's like entering a foreign world.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79