7 day challenge to MOVE THAT BODY!

in #life6 years ago

In another lifetime (in my 20's), I was a personal trainer. I had a great business helping women mainly become stronger and feel more confident about their bodies and themselves. I would go to their homes and we would use whatever they had available to use.

We would go for a run, a walk, a walk/run, we would use free weights, resistance bands, body weight. The one thing I wanted to get across was that you didn't need a gym membership or any expensive home equipment to become fitter, stronger and healthier.

woman pushup.jpg

I saw most of my clients 2-3 times per week. I was hopping from client to client day after day week after week and enjoyed it immensely and so much more as my clients felt better and saw results.

Then one week I had to go out of town. Actually I was coming to Las Vegas to a fitness convention (I lived in NJ at the time). I was to be gone for one week and I gave all of my clients their workouts to do while I was away.

I came back from the fitness convention totally pumped to use new ways of exercising and mixing it up with my clients but what I found when I returned totally deflated me ... 8 out of 10 of my clients did NOTHING while I was away. I couldn't grasp why they wouldn't do this for themselves ...

It was then that I realized that my job was not what I thought it was. My job was to hold these women accountable and that was basically it. Sure, at first I taught how to warm up, how to do specific exercises correctly, etc but the work after that was just to consistently get these women up and moving because as I found out, they were not going to do it on their own.

Fast forward to today where there are endless apps we can download to follow an awesome workout that doesn't even take much time to do. These apps, just like a gym membership or a treadmill at the house are just tools. We still need to get the motivation to press the start button and just do it!

7 minute workout.jpg

What I have found is short challenges to move the body daily work best for motivation and for consistency.

So I am starting a 7 day challenge beginning today. This is for beginners and those who haven't exercised a whole lot over the holidays (me). The workouts this week take literally 10-12 minutes ... who doesn't have 10 minutes!!!!

FYI, I am using Darebee.com for illustration of exercises. They are a not for profit group that has done an amazing job building a website with tons of program, challenges, and tips. They have given me permission to use their site.

So here goes ... if you have 10 minutes right now ... up you get!

DAY 1:

Quick warmup:

Darebee warmup.jpg

And now for the workout: REPEAT TWICE and you are done!

darebee am workout.jpg

Don't forget to repeat twice!

Now for a little stretching :)

darebee stretching.jpg

And that is it for today! Comment below if you are joining the challenge and then make sure to comment after each day that you complete the daily challenge to keep yourself accountable!

Sort:  

Thanks for posting. I am so doing this :)

In another lifetime. how did you know that. shouldn't we be bothered about the present.

Passing this on to my girlfriend! #vincentb

It was my attempt at humor ... another lifetime to me was when I was in my 20's as I'm a bit older now :)

Hey, nice write up, it is interesting. I am following you, can you follow me @xtophercruzeu thanks

Thanks and yes I am now following you!

Hello there! This looks like a great challenge to join. I was wondering though, if you could suggest a substitute excersise for push-ups? One of my shoulders has suffered some permanent damage from arthritis in a way that it hurts real bad when trying to do push-ups. Good luck with getting more people to tag along! :)

You could try getting some elastic resistance bands. And with an end in each hand and the band around your back re-creating the motions of a push up while standing.

The exercise that @jclark described is a great substitute. Resistance bands are great for rehabilitation!

Thank you both for the good tips :)

Great post..... I need to burn calories after Christmas junk food lol thanks for taking the time to share your knowledge and help get people fit at the same time its very inspiring. Upvoted and resteemed 😁

Thank you! A short challenge is a really good way to just start doing something because once you're up and moving, you will want to keep moving :)

A great post for me thank you for sharing the story. and I am happy to be able to join in steemit hopefully in this steemit I am more beneficial. if any time look at my current posta. thank you https://steemit.com/steemit/@alfa-good/steemit-s-key-witness-to-the-curator-in-my-country from @alfa-good

Thanks, I like your post :)

I ain't joining this challenge. I hope many others join it - who has similar goals.

For me, I am pushing myself to improve my dance by practicing every weekdays.

The best thing that worked for me in the past week is 'Not setting goal'. Because initially it is the act of showing up and doing something which can be further expanded.

I hope you and others - Good luck!

Consistency is the key so if you are practicing your dance each day, you will do great!

The material you provided is telling me to try right away . I am in not so good shape but i am going to try the program and MOVE MY BODY .

Move the body a little each day until you can move it more ... it's not only good for the body but the brain too!

I need to start moving a lot more and burning off the excess weight I have put on over the holiday period!

Thank you for responding to the comment about alternatives to push ups! Resistance bands are really good especially if you have an injury :)

Consistency is really the key ... if each day we all did something to move our bodies instead of nothing, the world would be a much healthier place!

I have good shoulders already, so I put in time on push-ups to help build my chest. Good sequence of training you got here...I'll save this for the archives... Someone would definitely need this someday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85