I'm Back | Sometimes It's Good To Be A Little Selfish

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Hello Everyone,

I've been gone quite a while, without really planning it!

A part of me felt like there is no real point getting back after so long- would people even remember my name? Did anyone even notice I'm gone? All sorts of fundamental questions about life and meaning. 

But, truth be told, I was just getting started here, and having so much fun doing it and expressing myself in a new way! I didn't want to give it up. 

So I am back, with a video explaining (at length, sorry about that) where I've been. I've been dealing with some confusion and questions regarding where I want to go in life. I've made the decision to change direction, and that took a lot of mental energy from me. So without meaning to, I kind of disappeared from a few places, Dtube included. 

My main take from this last month or so, is that putting others first is one of the worst things you can do for your happiness. 

Don't get me wrong, being considerate and caring for others is a wonderful thing, but not at the expanse of yourself. It is a tendency that I, as so many other people pleasers around the world, have and should work to change. 

I have been so focused on not hurting or disappointing my business partner, that I forgot to even think about not hurting or disappointing myself- and that was a mistake that cost me about 2 months of being pretty unhappy. 

But after years of being unhappy with my work and relationships, last year I have reached the decision to not let the fear of how others will react stop me from doing what I actually want. So it took some time and the right opportunity this time around, but I didn't allow myself to just give up and do what others want, I didn't accept that I was going to go back to being unhappy. 

So now that I've managed to put myself first again, I find myself with the energy and drive to do things I've been neglecting. 

Are there any hobbies or passions you've been neglecting lately because life got the better of you? If the answer is yes- I encourage you to give these things you love more space in your life!

Have a great one, 

Ruth


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54