How (&Why) I'm Creating a Dual-Career Lifestyle*A Creative Attempt at Balancing Passion w/Financial "Success"

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My father is a brilliant and successful entrepreneur; I'm grateful to have inherited, through either birth or osmosis, his innate motivation, and drive to create his own rules. I've worked for him on and off throughout the years as a full- or part-time employee. In my younger years, I was driven purely by the money--I mean it's business, right!? In my early twenties, I moved to San Francisco (so much more on this later), and played my hand of skills to nuzzle myself into a cushy position at a fancy money management firm. I needed to know I could reach financial "success" on my own, as well as under my dad's wing. I spent the majority of my waking hours engulfed in my work, and "networking" at related social events. As much as I kept myself busy, I still felt a disconnect between my true self--my inner being--my natural me--and the things I was doing. I spent as much time as I could exploring the city, looking at art, and reading anything from nutritional science to William Boroughs to Harry Potter. These hobbies usually failed to progress at a rate necessary for me to fully explore them, however. I would be inspired, and start to write a short story, for example, but this would soon be eclipsed by an urgent work matter. In many cases, these work matters seemed so urgent, that they came to me in night terrors. I realized, time and time again, maybe after getting shingles (yes, shingles, a condition normally reserved for the elderly and those with serious immunodeficiency issues), that I was running my mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual health into the ground for the chase of the almighty dollar. Don't get me wrong, I learned a lot about leadership, time management, negotiation, business politics, budget planning, recruitment, culture creation, etc. etc. etc., but I was suffering in a way I couldn't quite put my finger on. I eventually decided to return to Minnesota to complete a B.A. degree I had walked away from at 20 years old, mostly so nobody could ever bring it up again, and treat me like a second-class citizen because I didn't have a 4-year degree (finger twirl for education reform, more on this, too, later). I didn't expect that all of my mental, emotional, spiritual, and physical wounds would bubble to the surface during my two semesters back at a state university, but I was able to heal, explore my passions, and prioritize my needs. I became very aware and in-tune with my intuition, and I'm now hellbent on both nurturing and following it.

After graduation, I suited up and set out in pursuit of a full-time job where I could earn money to support myself. I had decided to move back into my Minneapolis home for reasons I may write more about later, as well. I interviewed for a few recruiting, account management, and sales jobs, to no avail. In the meantime, I joined a friend/filmmaker who's creating a film called 'The Making of a Unicorn.' In my unique role, I have access to every aspect of filmmaking, and I'm relishing the opportunity to learn from everyone involved. Between this project, the networking involved, and with what I'm doing here on Steemit, I feel my creative juices flowing at an amazing rate. Let me say that the difference between creative networking and networking in the finance industry is the SOUL. I don't feel like I'm working, or have an agenda. Interactions are full of life, and conversations dance organically... After a few weeks of interviewing for full-time jobs and working to jumpstart a creative career, it hit me that a traditional M-F, 9-5 schedule would undoubtedly kill a good portion of this absolute JOY I was experiencing. After looking at countless part-time job offerings that I was grossly overqualified for, yet considering, I finally thought, you know what, FUCK THIS, I AM AMAZING, I AM SKILLED, I AM VALUABLE, and I'M GOING TO GET WHAT I WANT. I realize not everyone has the connection to someone like my father, but nonetheless, I re-approached him with a renewed confidence that he had something I wanted, and I was not only worthy of the opportunity, but I was worthy of flexibility and the freedom to choose my own terms. I knew I was so alive inside that my passion and sincerity would shine through. Although I was previously denied the opportunity to work for his firm part-time just weeks earlier because "everyone [there] works full-time," "that's just the way this business works," "everyone [there] must equally contribute to the team," etc., I re-introduced my proposal to work three days per week for the firm, and made the statement that I am the most happy, productive, creative, and alive person I can be when I have the time to pursue my entrepreneurial/creative passions. I continued that I would like to create a true "dual-career" for myself, wherein I'm equally committed to each part. I recognize the need for financial stability as being equally as important as creative expression. I also respect each side's purpose in the function of society, as well as what each side can do for my personal/professional development. I saw the realization in his eyes that I was not going to give up on this dream, and also that I was prepared to be fully-committed during my time at the firm, and I was presented an offer after he consulted with the team. 

I'm now enjoying the freedom of being able to choose my creative/freelance projects, without the concern for monetary benefit (but let's be clear, I won't be doling out free labor all willy-nilly, I know my worth), ALL the chocolate-laced pastries (thank you, Caffetto), and a part-time career at a stable firm which pays the bills. I'm making a little over 50% of my previous salary, however, I'm certain I can adjust, and have been doing fine so far. Most importantly, I'm feeling 1,000% more confident and alive. 

I recommend the following to those interested in creating a "Dual-Career Lifestyle":

1. 'KANSO' your life - 'Kanso' is a Japanese term for gaining clarity through the elimination of clutter. Analyze your life and record what you are spending most of your thoughts (yes, your 'thinking time' is valuable), time, and money on. Are these priorities resonating with your true self--your inner being--your natural you? If not, CLEAN 'EM OUT. Don't worry about tossing a few babies with the bathwater; the important stuff will come back to you.

2. Make a vision board - Oh yes, I'm going there! Create your own best version. Write your priorities down on a piece of paper and tape them to the wall, use magazine clippings, hang up some abstract art, do whatever you need to do to keep your goals top of mind.

3. Get a planner & map every hour of every day - Don't stress it. If you don't get to something, honor yourself and your freedom, and simply reschedule! I love goal-setting planners with prompts to set goals at the beginning of the year, and push tasks throughout each month. Make a small step each day toward each one of your most important goals.

4. Research opportunities - Research, research, research! Read and ask others about how they're doing the things you want to be doing. Find common pain points, and start to configure how you will innovate your life to avoid them.

5. Budget your life & refine your exact needs - Be prepared to tell someone exactly what you want, exactly what you need, and why. 

6. Renew your confidence & make the ask! - When it comes to solidifying your paid position, get into the mind of the business owner/decision maker, and appeal to their passion for entrepreneurial ventures. When they see you confident and inspired, they'll be more likely to offer you an opportunity. Tip: since you'll have more flexibility outside this time, reassure them you'll be 100% committed to their business during this shorter time frame, no non-emergency doctor visits, cutting out an hour here or there, etc., and then stick to it! Show your passion, stand your ground, and make the ask! Be prepared to walk away, if necessary, and ask someone else. The right person will see your truth. Be authentic, and don't lie. 

7. Slay & repeat! - Refine your craft. Constantly reprioritize. Stay organized. Exercise. Meditate. Juice. Balance your life. Pur your own self-care first . Your badass-self deserves it. 

I hope this was valuable to you--and thanks for reading! I'd love to expand on this, so please let me know where you'd like to know more. As always, if you're inspired by my writings, do comment, follow, and resteeem! I love interacting, and I look forward to knowing your reactions. Xx! Mo :)




Sort:  

Wow the las part is pure gold ! Thank you for that

Thank you, and you're welcome. :)

Oh man oh man, im kind of in a similar boat at the moment. I have been at the same job for 6 years and it pays the bills but it leaves me without the time I need to pursue what makes my soul come alive. They are of the full time or no time mentality and I respect that so I was thinking I would just quit and figure it out from there. Maybe there is a way to work out a part time solution though and that would be most lovely. On the other hand I have been here 6 years so I think I might need to completely break away and reform my habits / patterns and take control of my life once more. Recently life has really done the absolute best it could do to get my attention that something needs to change and I think following my passion is a big part of that.

I really appreciate you sharing this part of your journey and all the wonderful tips on how to stay focused and achieve your goals. Hopefully my leap (which I may be taking in the next hour >_< ) will work out for the best.

That is awesome! I really wish you the best. You're welcome, and thank you... Would love to know more about your entrepreneurial/creative endeavors. :)

For creative minds, a typical 9-5 "job" can seriously be a health (mental and physical) health risk. Good luck with this more creative approach! ¡Estoy seguro que lo puedes hacer!

Gracias, mi amigo! You've seen me through the entire thought process, jaja! We are both doing this life thing. :):):)

Ahh, I skipped this post on the first pass since it has hardcore wall of text going on, but I'm glad I came back to it. I've been on a similar journey; perhaps a topic worthy of its own post...

But the short version is that I learned an entrepreneurial spirit which gave me the confidence and initiative to set out on my own, independently, and make my own way without any organization giving me "a job." Having done so has empowered me to begin realizing my true value, both economic and otherwise.

It was freedom. Freedom is scary, but it is worth it.

I can see now, the world is so bright and full of opportunity. If we can just stop being distracted by the way things should be (which is a mere glamour, and does not serve us) and focus on the way things are, it becomes rapidly clear that there is a way to make things better than they are. And then better than that. And on it goes.

Some thoughts on your final advice:

  1. Kanso... I haven't heard of this before, but it sounds brilliant. I look back and see that I did very similar things, and they were incredibly valuable to me. I developed the same behavior by following Christian principles, but ultimately I have realized that so many of these disparate frameworks of thought are merely different perspectives on the selfsame ideas.

  2. Vision board... Again, new name, old idea. I've never done this, but I can see its value. I think it could be a powerful tool for setting and maintaining goals. Definitely worth considering.

  3. Daily planner... Definitely not my cup of tea, but again, I see the value in the right circumstances. I think this one depends on personality, but then, I observe personalities (especially my own) to be flexible and dynamic. Perhaps the day will come when a daily planner sounds empowering rather than constraining to me.

  4. Research... Yes! The value of this cannot be overstated. And go into it with a learner's mindset: start off by admitting "I know nothing about this" and setting aside half-baked opinions that have accreted over the years (especially from teachers, professors, scientists, doctors, and other "authorities," who are really just other people like you, trying to find their own ways through life; they don't have any magical line on Truth that you haven't found yet). The ideas that are valid will stand on their own merits, everything else ought to be swept away; it will only serve to weaken, not strengthen.

  5. Budget... Yes, and not only economically. Be prepared to tell someone exactly what you want, exactly what you need, and why. I love the way you put this, because so often (almost always, in my experience) what we really want, and what we need in order to get it, are things money cannot buy, at least not directly. If money becomes necessary, that's fine, but never, never let money be the goal; money is by its very nature a tool, a means to an end. The moment we treat it as the goal, we put the cart before the horse and sabotage ourselves.

  6. Brilliant, I especially want to highlight this bit: The right person will see your truth. Be authentic, and don't lie. Accept yourself who and how you are, decide what are the parts you don't like, and work on changing them. It will not serve us to pretend to be who we want to be, rather than who we are. In doing so, we sacrifice our power to improve ourselves, and stagnation becomes the best case scenario.

  7. Yes, this. Oh, and consider psychedelics. If this shocks you, dear reader, go back to #4 and ponder how much you truly know, and how much you might stand to learn. Psychedelics and related substances can be incredibly powerful tools for self-improvement and growth, if used carefully and properly. Like chainsaws, they can do either enormous good, or enormous damage, very quickly; however, if approached with care and respect, we can have almost all the good and almost none of the damage.

OK, I'll stop writing now. Thanks for the post and food for thought, @scorpiodragoness :)

keeping this simple, I found this very valuable and you have really pique my interest. I noticed you from one of vermillionfox's resteem. I need to follow you and your journey. Thank you for your words.

Great article. I love it. I am in process of setting up the same thing as you have and I like the label you put on it :). Also I have the same reasons as you, I know how valuable it is to have creativity and creative output in your life.
Stability helps, too, though for me personally it's not that important.
But I understand and value the fact that with stability I will be able to atually better focus on my creative output and following my dreams, working on myself, etc. as I would not have to worry where will the rice and butter come from in three months time. I am also in the process of writing down few posts about this so it was a nice coincidence to find your post :). I don't even remember how I found it actually :D.

Again, nice read :). And I hope all is well

Congratulations @scorpiodragoness! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75