Another Million Dollar BBQ!!! Haha!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Yeah, you can see what I find important when photographing properties for sale up here at Lake Tahoe. The interior at this condo had recently been remodeled and was very nice, but who cares! Look at that view!!! It's Friday afternoon and I'll probably be opening a bottle of wine and grilling some T-Bone Steaks in a bit. My BBQ location isn't bad but shhh, don't tell it, I'll be fantasizing about this BBQ...

These photos were from a virtual tour shot this week at the Tahoe Tavern condos in Tahoe City. If you're curious to see more of the condo, click HERE for the tour.

_Q1A4187.jpg

For this BBQ photo, I used two flash units to lighten up the walls of the deck and the BBQ. Without them, the walls would have looked a lot darker.

Below is the view you see when you take the 30-second walk from the deck to Lake Tahoe's shoreline. How do you like that sunburst??? A small lens aperture of f22 helps to get a sunburst with long points like that. A polarizing filter and a graduated neutral density filter were also used. Unfortunately, the extra filters can cause extra lens flare (not the points) around the sun but I don't mind that look.

_Q1A4289.jpg

Here's a look back at the condos from the dock (below). Can you imagine taking your kayak or paddleboard out for a little paddle every morning on that water before work? Sounds like heaven to me.

A polarizing filter was once again used to cut through the glare on the surface of the water in order to bring out more of that amazing color. A graduated neutral density filter was also used again to darken the sky a bit and help give it an intense blue color.

_Q1A4306.jpg

When the price of STEEM goes to the moon and you become a wealthy whale, what do you think? Would you be willing to drop a million USD on this condo? I think I would...

Cheers!!! And have a great weekend Steemians!!!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Update:

Don't worry my BBQ, you might not have that million dollar view, but I still love you :)
20180518_181642.jpg

Sort:  

Hey Scott you are very good at explaining your photos and I tell you that unfortunately in the field of painting different artists are very jealous of their techniques and they do not share their experiences in a stupid way. One day we will drink a good Chianti with many beautiful steaks! Good weekend to you too!

Thank you @armandosodano! It's been fun to share what I've learned over the last 20 years as a photographer. The older I get, the more obligated I feel to share the knowledge. That Chianti and steak sounds great, be sure to let me know if you ever visit Lake Tahoe for a vacation/holiday and we'll make it happen. Cheers!

Thank you @scottshots the invitation is also valid for you if you come to Italy in Terracina-Lazio near Rome.

I'll remember that, thank you!

Looks a million dollars in your photos. I've never thought of using a graduated ND on a blue sky, might have to try that.

Thanks @sharpshot! It can definitely help bring out a richer blue color when trying to get the foreground exposure looking good.

Ooo I really like this location. Lake Tahoe looks great and the house and BBQ are in a good location. If I had a few million, I might think about making this a vacation house. Great work on the shots @scottshots! Love the deep blue of the sky with the greenish blue color of the lake.

Thank you @thraellock! Yeah, the blues and greens up here are incredible. Tons of vacations homes up here, most of my neighbors' homes are hardly ever used. Kind of sad really but it keeps the neighborhood nice and quiet.

What a great place for a BBQ. Stunning views.
Thanks for sharing @scottshots 🍻

No problem @still-observer! Yeah, now it's pouring rain at my house about 30 minutes from there. I'm still going to BBQ tonight but will be dreaming of that view. Cheers!

Great post @scottshots! I love that you explain how you went about getting the shot. Especially the two flashes used on the BBQ shot. And two filters at once for that lake shot?! I've never thought about more than one. With that extra sun flare I probably would lean towards just using the ND filter and messing around in post for whatever I was looking for from the photo. The starburst is very nice. :) Keep up the great posts!

But dang, that polarizing filter cutting into the water does look amazing! I could definitely learn a thing or two from you... already have! :D

Thank you @jordanpike! Two flashes is something I use often to get a little extra light. Interesting, if I had to choose one of the two filters, I would go with the polarizer. You can darken the blues in post processing, but it's pretty much impossible to replicate the glare cutting effect of a polarizer in photoshop. Happy shooting!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85