A Wintry Lament

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I lived in Minnesota for 15 years. I arrived there as a newlywed, and all of our children were born there. I remember telling my husband we needed to move away before our children grew up thinking this was as good as it gets: winter blizzards with sub-zero air temps, ridiculous wind chill factors, and huge snowdrifts; spring tornado warnings: summers full of mosquitoes, deer ticks, and humidity so high it felt like living in a sauna; and one month of beautiful fall weather. Finally, opportunity knocked and we moved out west! We still get wintry weather in our current location, including plenty of snow, but it isn't nearly as severe as in the midwest. Usually. Except right now.

20190208_131022_1.jpg

photo taken on my Android phone

Yesterday was sunny and windy, blowing Friday's 6" of light fluffy snow into midwest-style drifts. It was -6 degrees Fahrenheit outside this morning (-21 C). and 60 degrees F. (15 C.) indoors. The sun is shining again, but I am reluctant to open the window shades because it will just make the house colder. I opened one of them, and a wall of cold air drifted into my face. This would be considered an average winter day in Minnesota, but here it ranks as very cold and unusual!

When I was younger, I thought nothing of bundling up my children, warming up the car, and driving off to do errands in this kind of weather. Today I am thinking hard about just staying home and keeping warm. It might be a good day to start another jigsaw puzzle!

Sort:  

I was so lucky yesterday, as I did not have to leave the house. Well, I did have to deal with the cleaning fallout that accompanies the stomach flu, as the Bobo was stricken with an incredibly nasty bout of it, but at least I didn't have to go outside in the frostiness.

There is a reason that you don't live in Minnesota and I don't live in Alaska anymore, and yesterday's unusual weather was a reminder of that fact, lol!

Hope that puzzle is coming along right nicely!!!

My condolences to Bobo for being sick, and to you for dealing with the results.

@scribblingramma that is why so many people move to FL, my husband and I were both born here in this little town, But the last 10 years it has grown so much. There is this little road that runs along the river and if you saw someone you wanted to talk to you just stopped in the road and talked, if a car came by they either got out and talked or went around you. Now people honk and yell at you. No one does this anymore. When there was an event like 4th of July we knew almost everyone there, now it has gotten so big we don't go anymore. To me it is very sad, but I can't blame people for wanting to live here.

I don't think I could handle living in Florida, because I dislike heat and humidity. But I might want to visit once, in the winter!

@scribblingramma winter is when most people come down, we call them snowbirds, so fly on down. lol, It does get hot in the summer but one good thing about working on the river is it is not as hot as on land. People are always saying to me, how can you work outside in this heat, it is different on the river we get a seabreeze and it is not bad at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94