Who Is Your Most Influential Teacher @senseicat

in #life6 years ago

I am posing this question to the Steemit community because when I think about my past educational experience, I remember a few standout teachers.

My favorite teacher in 5th grade is the most memorable during my formative years. She read to us Kidnapped by Robert Louis Stevenson. She would read and all of my classmates would beg for her to continue even though recess. She taught us about the Oregon Trail through projects and we played a game that I would appreciate though adulthood. We had to select the object that we would take if we lived during this period of history and then make difficult decisions regarding resources along the way to determine the ultimate outcome.

group think.png

This is also the class when she instructed us to read the entirety of the instructions, complete the paper, and go outside to play. Normally, I am one of the first ones done and I noticed that all the other classmates went outside to play. My teacher tapped me on the shoulder and showed me that if I had read the instructions, rather than completing the work, at the end, it says to only complete a couple of simple assignments. The ultimate lesson was to follow her instructions. She was so sweet, kind, and compassionate that I will always remember her passion for teaching her beloved students. I am proud to be one of the lucky ones.

I have had the good fortune of having a few amazing instructors in college, especially the one who taught about group dynamics. It is essential to learn how to work with others throughout life. One of the lessons that he carved into us is that IQ levels go down with more people in the group. It is called "group think" so you tend to make better decisions solo than collectively.

Sort:  

My mother has been my most effective and favorite teacher. She really was teacher if the year several times in her district. I run into her former students all the time. She was the reason I became a teacher and principal. I am now a lot of kids’ favorite educator because I employ a lot of methodologies from my mom.

That is awesome and how wonderful of you to credit your mom as your inspiration!

I had a teacher in 9th grader (this is a negative story btw)

It was my english teacher.
and i was planning to take english as 1 of my exams.

but that teacher got the job as our teacher only because there were no other candidates.
and that teacher was partly russian and she barely spoke english.
so that made me scared of choosing english as my exam and i chose society instead.

most of the time we were in class trying to teach our teacher english grammar.

Oh, thank you for sharing that story. This is an excellent example of how a teacher can influence your life. I think that you made a reasonable choice based on the circumstances. I hope that you had some positive experiences too and I know that those stories are more rare, but that is also why those positive experiences have to be treasured.

Two words: 'Father and mother'

Nothing more I can add to this comment that would add value more than those two words

My favorite teacher was Sir Obaid who thought us English and his teaching really helped me in later stages of life.

@senseicat my favorite teacher was my maths teacher in Blackpool college, I love maths thanks to him, the way he directed the class with creativity, imagination, and sometimes with fun. Excellent person, human dedicated with passion in teaching

It is wonderful to develop and interest for any subject due to the influence of your teacher and math is so essential throughout life. I am so happy that you had this wonderful experience and that the teaching method was fun for you!

@senseicat nice words, thanks for reading my comment

Great question. I have to say, making constant mistakes has been my greatest teacher. Seeing how those effect my relationships, I guess the most feedback I get is from my family, so my daughter and wife have become my greatest teachers. The lesson is always the same though, let go of strong opinion, stay with humour so long as it is kind and creative.

Wow, that is so true. It is important to learn from mistakes and all of us have made them. It is important to learn from family and friends because they are closest to us. Sometimes, we can get stuck inside our own perspective so it always a great idea to maintain our sense of humor. It will propel us through the ups and downs of life.

yep, relationships enrich us at every level, while most of our issues stem from them also. It is rarely relating to situations and people directly that is the problem for me. For me it is always an opinion or story I have adopted, (for some advantage or insecurity) that causes conflict. So its not like I need more information, its more like I need to let go of the need for strategy and control and enjoy the real time flow of sensation more. Sounds so simple ha ha...fear is a bitch :)

hi @senseicat nice post
I recently got Steve, together with you I decided that we can achieve a lot and develop rapidly. Let's increase steemit strength together. I follow you follow and you enjoy new acquaintances following me! ;) I will upvote you, you give me upvote

@senseicat this is wonderful.... You have taken me Memory Lane.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Although sometimes or not all, they are given teamwork, do not know how to do it and in the worst case ends up delaying the group in general in the same way is very true what you say

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73