Let Me Explain: Life as a Chronic Asthmatic

in #life6 years ago

1812092_S.jpg

I'm sitting at emergencies right now, just after having a nebuliser placed on my face to help me breathe.

As I am sitting here, I am thinking about how often we take the small things for granted sometimes. Like breathing. Even as a chronic asthmatic, I start taking it for granted when my lungs and trachea are working at proper capacity.

It's when things like this happen that remind me how important something like breathing is. And if you are someone who has never had asthma, you will never understand. You might have been out of breath or had bronchitis which caused breathing problems. But it is nothing like chronic asthma.

Let me explain...


EXERCISE

3053487_S.jpg
Image source: Pixabay Mobile App

To most of you, exercise is something you do if you want to stay fit, grow some muscles, lose weight or prepare for an athletic event.

For me, it's compulsory for my asthma. If I want to live longer I need exercise to increase oxygen circulation to my lungs and increase my lung capacity. Swimming and jogging are usually good for these, but I try to throw some resistance training in too.

The thing is, I don't always exercise as regulary as I need to. Which means my lungs dont always get the workout it deserves. And at 38 I need to start taking my exercises more seriously.

As an added benefit I will get a great body out of it. But I always need to use my asthma pump before a session to make sure my lungs can cope with the strain.

So once my body has healed from this infection, guess who is getting back into shape. That's right, me.


BALANCED DIET

2834549_S.jpg
Image source: Pixabay Mobile App

Eating healthy is also necessary for me as an asthmatic. The problem is, I can't just go crazy for fruits for vitamins like I want. Certain fruit, like guava and mango especially in juice form, flare my chest and causing some mild breathing problems.

Coupled to this is the fact that I need to eat right for my exercising. Protein, fats, carbs etc. If I don't eat properly then my session will end up being a fail.

Yoghurt is very important in my diet. It serves as a probiotic, helps collect the right bacteria for mg body and helps maintain the right levels of fat.

When I was 23 I joined the gym. They measured me up and told me I was underweight, had low blood pressure and had 0% fat. Don't be jealous yet. For a man my age I am meant to have at least 20% fat in my body. Anything under is very unhealthy. Alright right now I am at 24% fat according to my scientific scale, which means I am slightly overweight.

I digress. By eating the right food, I make sure my body gets what it needs to fight off infections. The illnesses I get the most every year are sinus, throat, amd chest related. And they always affect my asthma. Every time.


NATURE AND ALLERGIES

3394489_S.jpg
Image source: Pixabay Mobile App

Mother nature, as much as I love her, is my greatest enemy sometimes. And I mean that in the nicest way ever. With asthma, there are some inherent allergies that just come with it.

Spring brings pollen. Spring is actually my favourite season, but I can't walk through a park or nature reserve without the pollen attacking my sinus and closing my trachea. And then I need to use my pump to open my trachea again. You may have noticed from my other posts that i love growing trees and bonsai from seed, but when it is flowering time, out comes the pump and allergy tablets to fend off the snotty nose.

Summer brings with it the dry air and heat. When it gets too hot, I also struggle to breathe. There just doesn't seem to be enough fresh air in the air for me.

My chest also has a massive problem with extreme cold. So when autumn and winter come with their cold nights and rain, my chest hits closed in the middle of the night while I am sleeping.

And I am a real pluvophile. I love the rain.

Cleaning the house is also an arduous task. Any form of dust attacks my sinus first and then my trachea, before I have lung problems. I usually have to clean with a mask to protect myself, but even then some of the dust lingers in the air.

Finally, animal fur. I have 4 dogs and 6 cats. At first the fine hair killed my sinus for a few weeks but once I was used to them I was fine. Yet let me meet a new animal or walk with my kids through an animal farm, it's over.


MEDICATION

1539191_S.jpg
Image source: Pixabay Mobile App

Now I know what the doc will give me later for this infection I have. There will be antibiotics for the infection, a syrup for the coughing and phlegm, and sinus tabs to clear my sinus and to stop the extra production of mucus.

The extras for my asthma will include a new pump, my chronic asthma refill that I have to take every morning and night, and prednesone tabs to open my chest up every morning, plus a liquid refill for my nebuliser at home.

The thing is my chronic asthma pump for every morning and day. There are many times I forget to take it, sometimes days in a row. You see, this medication keeps the muck off my lung branches. It has to be taken daily for it to come into full effect. The moment I stop, the mucus builds up in my lungs again and I have to start all over again.


LAUGHTER IS NOT THE BEST MEDICINE

1532978_S.jpg
Image source: Pixabay Mobile App

I just saw the doc now and I was right about the bronchitis. And the meds. But chatting to the doc I remembered one more thing that complicates my life.

Laughter.

My wife will know when I'm enjoying a good comedy. When I reach for my pump so I can breathe. Some heavy good laughter closes my chest completely. I try to keep my laughing internal with just a smile on the outside. Or restrict it to a giggle.

Laughter is bad medicine to me, but I am such a happy person and I love smiling and laughing as often as I can.


WHEN LIFE IS PERFECT

3267048_S.jpg
Image source: Pixabay Mobile App

I have had asthma my whole life. I have suffered it my whole life. When I was 22 my doctor told me if I don't look after my lungs I won't make the age of 40. My lungs would collapse by then.

It wasn't always this bad. About 3 years ago I went through what I call the perfect year. I was in my third year of kung fu martial arts, so my exercise was on par. I had researched nutrition and had changed my diet. I was taking my chronic meds every day without fail.

I could laugh as hard as I wanted and didnt need my pump before my kung fu class. I could run around the block and simply be out of breath like a normal person.

So what went wrong? I made the human mistake of getting used to feeling healthy and forgetting my reliance on my chronic medication. So that stopped. Also, my wife and I had bought a house near my work, and we had our second child. This meant stopping my kung fu to reduce travelling and also be there for my wife with our two children.

Of course, I am not blaming anyone but myself. I could have trained at home still. I have a gym set at home and I knew my martial arts off by heart. It took several months of not exercising and forgetting chronic meds before my first asthma attack happened again.

It doesn't mean I can't get back there. This post is a promise that I will. It is also a reminder to all of you out there to not take health, diet and fitness for granted. For some of us this is imposed on us if we want to live. Don't wait until it is too late.


Header Image: Pixabay Mobile App


Please support my work by subscribing to one of the following:


@shadowolfdg is a punkstiny.pngsteemPunk and Steemit article Mentor for @schoolofminnows

Member of @teamsouthafrica

Post of the Day Award - @adsactly

Official Promoter for @tpot -- join our discord channel

U5dr39FKdkNjXYypzWBwbZzRLonXd2p.gif


Kind regards

Shaun M Jooste

Joint-Owner: AIR Entertainment (https://airentertainment.biz)
Director: Celenic Earth Publications (https://celenicearthpublications.wordpress.com)
Author, Screenwriter, Gamewriter, Journalist (https://celenicearth.wordpress.com)

Sort:  

am asthmatic too i use ventoline

That's a stronger form of the asthavent I use. Which means your asthma is probably worse than mine

Wow @shadowolfdg, a very informative post and I needed to read this, as I have recently at 64 been diagnosed with early emphysemia (COPD) and it regularly disturbs my sleep due to a lack of oxygen. I do however take no medicine for it and believe that nature will cure it. Your issue however is serious and I am glad that you are now determined to do something about it! All strength and prayers to you! Blessings and UV.

Thank you. And speedy health to you too

I used to have asthma really bad as a baby. Thank God I don't have it anymore. I got an asthma attack once when I got bronchitis but other than that I'm very blessed not to get these kind of attacks anymore.

I think diet plays a huge role. I've completely cut out dairy and gluten form my diet and I can definitely that it has helped my health in all aspects. I think the environment also plays a huge role, I used to stay in an area where there was an oil refinery and then I would experience shortness of breath some mornings. Btw hope you get better soon man!

I'm glad you don't have it bad. I've heard removing dairy could be good for me so might try that. But yes, environement is so essential. Also stayed near a gas refinery once that was so bad for me. Another reason we moved.

I have a friend who claims smoking lots of weed cured his asthma. Haha you could try that if you want. 420 YOLO!

Hahaha. No thanks. Never been a fan. My bro used that once too and said it got rid of his asthma. But when he had to stop his lungs were pretty messed up after that.

I tried it once and almost died from how much I coughed. My throat was so sore the next morning. Never again.

Btw not sure if you know about resteemit. I just resteemed your post. All you do to use resteemit is add www.re infront of the the url so
https://steemit.com/life/@shadowolfdg/let-me-explain-life-as-a-chronic-asthmatic

changes to https://www.resteemit.com/life/@shadowolfdg/let-me-explain-life-as-a-chronic-asthmatic, if you open up that url then the resteemit bot will resteemit :)

Yeah I do know about this. Thanks 😊

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=shadowolfdg
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=let-me-explain-life-as-a-chronic-asthmatic


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Thank you for giving us insight into your life, we tend to be so selfish and forget that others live life differently to us. I hope that your asthma does not get worse and that you find the time you need to exercise and live healthily.

I had mild asthma as a child that was brought on by mold or exercising too much so I was given a nebulizer and an albuterol inhaler. I never knew most of this about having asthma and I applaud you for learning so much about it in order to live the best possible life for you. I know that it may not be easy but thanks for sharing your experience with us so that we may be able to better relate to those that have asthma in our own lives. Good for you!
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95