For the Love of Languages

in #life6 years ago

In college I attained oral fluency in German. I remember my Freshman year professor crying after a fluid conversation in which I finally gendered my nouns correctly within complicated sentences. It was a milestone because I’d been struggling and, according to my professor, my accent was one of the best she’d heard in ages.

I’ve been told over and over I have an ear for languages. That’s a wonderful compliment. The fact is, while I have the ear and the tongue, I do not have the grammatical skill necessary for mastery. Again and again this has gotten in my way.

diomari-madulara-110583.jpg
Photo by Diomari Madulara on Unsplash

That conversation with my professor? It was my final exam. By the time I got there I was convinced I would fail. I passed inly because I spoke on instinct and without hope instead if thinking about the words and if I was getting them right.

I left that University for another where they placed me in beginning German classes based on my written test scores. Again, I failed technical language skills. I spent two semesters talking circles around my peers (much to my AIs’ delight), scored near perfect on every segment technical or otherwise, and grew so frustrated with the department’s unwillingness to advance me, I switched to Arabic.

emilio-jaman-480449.jpg
Photo by Emilio Jaman on Unsplash

Technically, Arabic is a far more difficult language than German. Even if I had a stellar background education in English grammar (which, surprise, I do not), it takes years of immersive study to master. It’s kind of funny because Arabic was my native language. My father stopped speaking it when I was five and I lost the words if not the sounds. I transferred out of a class at the mid-level because I was going to fail. But I had gleaned a lot.

In fact, I had learned enough that Arabic became a bridge between English and German. One of my uncles teaches German in Lebanon. We couldn’t communicate in Arabic on my end or English on his, so we fell back on German with him filling in my vocabulary through hilarious comic strips and long, patient conversations.

Fluency and German happened without my realizing it. But, like Arabic, I stopped speaking it and quickly lost skill.

I have kept both languages (and learning tools for them) around me in hopes of picking them—and Spanish—back up. Today was the day it happened. My homeschooled child wants to learn all three languages. We dusted off my German textbooks and spent half an hour practicing reading German words.

mcml-xxxiii-steal-my-_-_-art-266673.jpg
Photo by MCML ➖XXXIII (steal my _ _ art) on Unsplash

My son has an ear and a tongue for language. It was such a pleasure speaking with him. I was reminded of how much German I know. It will keep coming back quickly, and it’s special to learn it with my child.

What languages do you speak or want to learn?

APP.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

I can relate with your language experience. I grew up in a bilingual family and studied two other languages later on. Being fluent in more than two languages opens a lot of doors. Not too mention that it is incredibly useful while trotting the world. I had no problem learning Latin languages. If you speak two of them, it's so easy to learn and communicate in another one. Arabic and German, on the other side, are not that easy to learn as the spelling and morphology are a big turn off !

I would very much love to attain fluency in Spanish. I was so close. Learning languages is such a beautiful act.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shawnamawna to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76