Sometimes the meds do more harm than good

in #life6 years ago

Friends, the Focalin does not work for me. I am a giant emotional mess thanks to what I think of as prescription whiplash. Day One on the meds left me tired. They smashed through my system, and I was able to focus, but I was anxious and jittery. Day Two I paired them with a half dose of my anti-anxiety medicine. I felt less jittery but even more wiped out when they wore off. Day Three I repeated the process only to spiral into hopelessness and uncontrollable crying as the Focalin left my system.

IMG_1683.jpg

Let us recap:

Adderall makes me anxious and causes me to grind my teeth hard enough to crack them.
Adderall extended release causes me to grind and stops me from eating, plus it turns me angry the more I use it.
I couldn't afford Vyvanse.
I could afford Focalin, but only after the Rx was changed from Extended Release to all-at-once.

I'm not sure what's next on the list of ADHD meds, but I really need the intervention. Today I am recovering. I am forcing myself to eat and working my way through tasks on my to do list as best I can given my serious inability to focus. I made it to my workout this morning. I am sticking with routine. I know this will get better. Hopefully soon.

Sort:  

Many medications have adverse side effects. Pharmaceuticals are way oversold and much to prevalent in our society.

God love ya. Doctors are only licensed to "practice" medicine. Let them practice on somebody else. You are to valuable of a person.
Here is something else to ponder upon.
2 Timothy 1:7 King James Version (KJV)
7 For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.
It's a promise too. Claim it.

@spozone, I'm curious if you can help me interpret the scripture. Is it saying the solution exists already inside us?

I think so yes. If nothing else it's a Jedi mind trick. You simply have to believe. Have faith. Like in the movie Stigmata, the kingdom of God is within you and all around you, not in buildings of wood and stone, not in statues. It's in you. It's a choice, a choice of surrender and of submission. It's not an easy choice but a choice.

Yes, my panic attacks still plague me, yes my depression and anxiety creeps up on me from the depths of horrific memories. As I grow in confidence I'm learning to surrender those things too God also. I realize they are "my" things or rather tools of the devil trying to separate me from God's love, joy, and happiness.

I'm no saint. My nature is evil to the core. I used to think I was a wizard, a warlock, singing prayers to Shiva, Isis or Satan himself. I was angry, angry as all hell at God for allowing my ass to get raped by that man, for allowing the beatings as a child. I chose to blame God. Today I choose Love. For years nothing but chaos, madness, sadness. No more. I choose to accept, to embrace, to truly change my perception, I choose Christ, Him crucified on a cross that I might have life, joy, happiness, and a peace that indeed surpasses all understanding.

I empathize with you and hope these words help you in some way. When this world is passed away I hope to find you in the next and we can laugh, cry, joke, and sing praises over it all then


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I know its hard. I stopped all meds more than once. You must find your superpower.

I can't tell you what to do, to forget medication and never look back. Being ADHD is hard and we are made to feel like we cannot participate in the sit still and listen culture of schooling and office. I haven't held a job for more than 2 or 3 months in my entire life.

Embrace who you are, find your superpower, love yourself. Whatever it is that makes you different doesn't come as only a cost. You have powers. What are they? You can do anything, just maybe not the same way as everyone else.

Steem on, toward Love and Light.

Yes I agree, embrace it, celebrate it, love it, yes, yes, wise words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55