The boost I needed just arrived in my inbox

in #life6 years ago

Today I was asked to Be a team captain for the CrossFit Open at my gym. What an honor! Especially given I can’t compete this year. I was told, “It was thought that you would be an excellent Captain between your energy, constant support of teammates, and awesome Facebook presence!”

image

You may be wondering about that last piece. Team captains host a FB group for their team and, wow, is that something I’m familiar with. It’s the other parts I’m excited about though. Especially that my gym-mates feel supported by me. I’ve felt bad a lot in the gym lately due to my injury, but I focus on enjoying my workouts or, barring that, giving shout-outs to my peers as they get their hustle on.

Don’t take this as negativity: I know I’ll never be a great CrossFit athlete. I have no such goal. My goal is to be my best me. Being seen as a qualified leader, though? I may keep up the good work and see if I can captain a team next year.

Here’s a smidge about being a team leader from the invitation I received:

image

The email was quite long and intimidating. The Captain position requires a commitment very similar to Daisy troop leadership, of which I’ve made no attenpt to hide my lack of enjoyment. However, it is with ADULTS. This is key.

Okay, I’m gonna leave this topic for now. I’s love to know what type of leadership experience you have and enjoy.

Please forgive brevity and typos. I am writing through a migraine and on my phone.

Sort:  

From our short time knowing each other, you'll be amazing at this.

As a leader, I am best at leading very small groups of focused, competent people. I usually lead the Guest of Honor team for ICon, our biggest annual science fiction convention. It's a team of 3-4 people, and it works great.

When I was a tech editor, I led a team of two. Me, and my vice editor, plus a few freelancers. My vice editor was so committed, he once wrote a piece between two back surgeries. He had one surgery, that failed, and was in the hospital waiting for the next day. And he wrote a piece. This was 100 percent his idea, and I was not super happy about his priorities. But, yeah, that's the kind of person I can manage.

If a team is bigger than 4, my ADHD plays havoc. If a team isn't committed and competent, my people pleasing will get in the way of getting the best out of everyone.

Haha, I can only imagine how happy you were to discover that in your inbox! Hopefully this goes well for you :)
And I know the pain when you gotta write through the phone, lol... It's nearly impossible to avoid typos and it takes so long to write anything.
May your migraine disappear immediately!

Congratulations
by the way, I love your photo ;-)

Thanks for your post. And congrats for your success. Hope you get well soon. I wish God gives you happiness all time. Take care @shawnamawna

hahaha well, I think you know mine... lol :D

And you know, that is not negativity.... merely an individual choice! :)

Congratulations! Keep on being you!

I wish I could be on your team @shawnamawna.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73