The Thing You Hate

in #life6 years ago

Lost boy broken on this mountaintop
tooth decay can't be scrubbed clean
all the dead out riding horses
Texas sun, pitch-blue sky, snapshot
catch the bullet with the tongue
roll it around on the forest floor
propagate the violence of a species,
exterminate the species
label it too aggressive and keep DNA
slides in the microscope, blood samples
run so thick and red lab coats darken.
The slide down is quick if sticky.

Image from Pixabay

Sort:  

Wait a minute. I love the Texas sun. It boils your brain on the inside, while still attached to the remnants of self. So many long days feeling the heat drain from head to toe. Even in the winter it seers the mind with spectacular moments of solitude and solice. Each day the South Texas sun rises over the gulf, a blessing awaits.
IMG_20171107_071606.jpg

It is a beautiful sky. I miss it, and I think that's how it found its way into this piece, albeit the harder summer memories may have been more at play. I'm sorry it took me so long to respond. I love this comment so upvoted right away but haven't actually been online much of late. Lots and lots and lots happening.

It's the thing I hate. (Texas sun) But love. But hate it. But, but, ....cognitive dissonance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66