You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The invisible people

in #life6 years ago

I don’t see any homeless people around my neighborhood, we have a pretty well organized shelter system. When I go to NY, I see a lot of them sitting near carboard signs, I don’t know what’s the deal with them, they are mostly young people and they look all drugged up. ☹️

Sort:  

Most homeless people use drugs. If the drugs didn't bring them to homelessness, they end up on them to cope with the thought that society and/or family doesn't care about them.

I'm from NY, and I'm also a homeless Veteran. I've struggled with addiction for my entire adult life, but have two years of sobriety now, and VA programs assisting me with establishing housing.

It's a major growing problem in NY, and most addicts who don't find recovery, generally don't establish housing, and many programs won't help individuals in active addiction. Homelessness and addiction go hand in hand.

I can assure you, 9 times out of 10 if you give your money to a homeless person, they will use it for drugs. I still give them money anyways, because I know their pain, and I know that the feeling of others caring, helped me to break the cycle of addiction.

There is some heavy focus on the issue here ,and steps are being made to reduce the homeless population. My heart goes out to the homeless population in this world, and the one's who are stuck homeless, and in addiction are at a major disadvantage. Recovery is important for the homeless, and it's also being addressed pretty heavily. It still seems, much more needs to be done if we're to assist, instead of turn our backs.

I am sorry to hear about your struggle. I am also happy that you managed to get back on your feet and that you will be able to have your own place. I can't even imagine how difficult it must have been to go through all this.

Thank you for your kind words. As strange as this may sound. I'm humbly grateful to have experienced this hardship in life, because the wisdom I've gained as a result, may have very well saved my life, and it's opened my eyes to how naive I was of the ways of the world.

It was a pleasure conversing with you. I'm now following, and will revisit your blog 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

When I was in the suburbs, I never saw any homeless person. SInce I am back in the city, I am saddened to see more and more of them on the streets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85