Just Be the Baker

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I did a practice a few years ago that spawned a HUGE shift in my life. This was a few years ago when I first began working hard on self reflection and coming to know the truth of who I am. Seeing through layers of my public persona facade, and how/why those layers had formed. Once I cleared out old dramas and got in touch with my core essence, my soul, or my base level programming, (whatever you choose to call it) it became very uncomfortable for me to “act” like anything else besides who I truly was. And yet I had been living my whole life up until then through this alter ego which had developed to protect my true inside vulnerable self.

FDD242F2-279E-4375-AB5F-612242C0D10F.jpeg

When we experience big life changes like this, how do we make the shift? How to drop all of the old and be new...the real me? Do you make an announcement? Like, “ahem, may I have your attention? hello, friends and family. I know you think you know & love me, but how I present vs who I really am are rather different it turns out. Let me unveil and introduce you to the real me. I hope you like her.” 😬🤞🏾 That seemed awkward and I couldn’t figure out how to make this shift.

As I chatted back then about this with my Man, who is truly my life guide 🙏🏽, he suggested something that seemed radical to me at the time - that I just start being the real me. There was no need to make an announcement or to label myself from the way I was before to who I truly was all along and now knew myself to be. His example was a friend of ours who began baking cakes on the side for friends. At first it was just a cake or 2, here and there, but overtime she became a renowned full time professional baker. She never made an announcement, like “hey...hello. Ahem, I am now a “Baker” 🙌🏽.” No, it just happened little by little over time. So our phrase of encouragement for when I would get anxious and not know which way to behave was, “just Be the baker.” IN other words...just be the real me. I didn’t need to explain myself if who I truly was didn’t match the expectations of others who’s perception of me was based on my old ways.

With some true friends this was an easy shift. I felt comfortable enough with them to just do me. Down my walls went and my hiding stopped, and god it felt good to be real. 😅 But with others it was much harder...just being around certain situations or certain people would auto trigger my old coping mechanism of hiding parts of myself and faking my being. I did not know how to NOT go there in these situations.

So my man had a brilliant suggestion. We were on our way to a yoga class with our favorite instructor, and my man said “just pretend everyone in the class knows EVERYTHING about you.” So all my little secret desires, my flaws, my gloriousness, my shyness, my aspirations, my sexuality, my particular kinks, even what I look like naked 😆...for 2 hours in this class i pretended that all the other students and the instructor knew every single thing about me.

F4A2787A-228D-455A-B7AB-C64CDF7A176F.jpeg

And guess what...no one flinched. No one shunned me or mocked me. I was openly the true me for those 2 hours and nothing changed. My world didn’t end! I didn’t die!!

I know, I know...this was just a head game. But, isn’t our reality always a matter of perception? Basically this little head game exercise allowed me to experience life unhidden as I desired to live. It allowed me to visualize and even experience how life could be, which is always the first step towards actually living it.

So that’s my tip for today. Wanting to make a shift in your life? Step 1 is get really, really clear on what you want. For me it was to live wide open with no more hiding. Step 2 is to visualize or practice in your head actually living that way. How would it look, taste, sound, and feel?

My reality shifted back on that day from this practice and all of my dreams began to come true. ✨💗

Sort:  
" it became very uncomfortable for me to “act” like anything else besides who I truly was. "

I know the feeling. It feels fake, like you're putting on a show for others without them realizing it.

Yes it’s very painful. Like Anaïs says:

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

Wonderful Post - and I want to share that my world is upside down and I restarted yoga paractice 2 years ago. Yoga for me is sometimes the only thing that helps me focus - Realisation and "fronting up" to yourself takes time is the hardest position of any !

I agree no fanfare needs to be made or drums beating to announce to the world - this is a journey for some that will take more time than others - just like being on our yoga mats in practise we are at one - it's not a competition with others.

I think "Your Man" needs a mention for when there is support, trust and security one can try anything - well done "Your Man " well done you.

I have voted and will follow
Sonic Sonny 💁🏻

that I just start being the real me. There was no need to make an announcement or to label myself from the way I was before to who I truly was all along and now knew myself to be.

This is beautiful, be true to yourself first.

Thank you 🙏🏽

You kinda talk about Self Realization there. Or am I mistaken?
Only such a being has no longer veils to unveil and feels complete within all the imperfection.
Happy to read about such awareness on Steemit.

Yes, self realization... I’m fairly awake! Just periods of cloudiness come back through for me from time to time. But I’ve seen the truth, and once seen you can’t unsee it. :)

So true, and the awareness combined with a mindfulness is where success grows from. Like you discussed, start with the 2 hr yoga class and just fail to stop! ;*

Yes that’s me...becoming more real and not hiding in larger and larger circles.

Hey, thanks for commenting. I like your blog and following you now. :)

I appreciate it! I am loving the opportunity the steemit community gives for me to explore and discuss passions and ideas that I find important and a community to help me grow in my understanding. Looking forward to hearing from you again!

You're deep in the flow @steemed-open and you have a nice body.. Just being the real me..

Thanks very much for all the compliments, and especially for being honestly you

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Lovely work

whether it can be called or equal to yoga

People were born to he authentic and that is where their beauty and strength lies. Like flowers they spread their real fragrance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62