Growing Bored With Paradise

in #life5 years ago

'' Novelty has charms that our minds can hardly withstand. ''

51658584_324459758272977_3266158238734745600_n.jpg

Ever heard of ''paradise''?
You know the place they refer to as ''heaven on earth'' where you feel like you’re rolling on ecstasy all the time? Well guess what now… I’ve spoken to some very special people who have had the chance to live on that highly desired island, and they’ve told me that it wasn’t even that desirable anymore….

Ah… welcome to the if-it’s-not-exciting-I-don’t-want-it-anymore era.

We’re constantly bombarded by newness, but the truth is that I’ve long ago lost track of it.
Should I even be ashamed of saying that on some days I secretly wish of losing my phone? Well I’m not ! Since I quit the social media scene last year, the itch of quitting it all has been more present than ever. What can I say, I’m just not one of those that will fall prey to the illusion of superficial pleasure.

I don’t think we’re wired to constantly want more out of life, people, material, etc.

However, I think we have been conditioned to adhere to this fake way of life.

When you live in the western world and you have all of your basic comforts and needs being met, what good is life if it doesn’t add that extra fun, am I right?
What’s good is a marriage if it’s not as passionate and thrilling as it used to be 20 years ago?
Whether you want to admit it or not, these are strong indicators that we’ve become accustomed to live life up to a certain standard.
On the other hand, gratitude looks like a pretty great trend from afar, but I mean, I already did my good deed of the day so that makes me a pretty grateful human, am I right?

65cd69cf6d6ecc193d314f164f0f82d3.jpg

Boredom is far from being a problem that can threaten one’s life, yet we see it as a torturous enemy. We avoid it like the plague. Widening our perspective is only a train of thought away, yet we feel like our own personal life and our own boredom problems has more value than the marriage we’re currently breaking by choosing to stray.

Welcome to the I-only-want-a-life-that-offers-complete-fulfillment era.
I wish you an everlasting fun stay!

51762292_363484500915203_5890528490909859840_n.jpg

Sort:  

is that your Valentines day virtual gift?
If so thank you:) 💛

I guess so since you won't come pick up the non virtual one. ;) lol

LOL!!!!

What I've come to realize is what matter the most is actually the profound quiet moments in life and the moments you can look back and be proud of. Imagine loving a movie like Fight Club (1999) or a Stanley Kubrick movie when it came out while the critics were bashing it and finally they turn around and then calling it a masterpiece.

Basically I like the excitement that pays off much later. I like the bragging rights of loving something before it was "cool". Anime is getting mainstream now and blockchain is catching up too. It makes me proud that I got in early and makes me want to find the next hidden gem to cherish before the world catch on to it.

I don't understand how one can be bored when theres so many exciting things to try and do and new ways of thinking and content coming out every day you just need to find something to throw your time and yourself into

@onepagex

Well First of all i love your eyes!

Thats sweet of you to say!
Thanks so much!:)

There is a saying about something being "about as exciting as watching paint dry".

But isn't one meditation to just sit in front of a blank wall for hours with slightly lowered gaze? Does that mean that meditation is boring?

I dunno, I guess I'll have to ask Sab :-)

Wow!!! Such a cool saying, I've never heard of it! So cool that I learn new things almost daily with you 😉

Such a cool analogy;)It's funny as I have been increasing my daily meditation time😏
No kidding, I've been doing it for almost a year now everyday (march 9 will be my one year anniversary hehe) and I still think it's the most amazing part of my day.
Am I normal? 😁

"Normal is as normal does", isn't it?

Such wisdom in all you say my dear @onceuponatime 🌟😉

Hey, hope you are having a nice day!

We stopped by to invite you to participate in the "Caption this photo" and "Finish this story" contests and win prizes worth 12 Steem!

Also check out 1Ramp on Android and Web.

Thanks a lot!! 💜

@chekohler has set 1.100 STEEM bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

I just found out that cock fighting is done with chickens, that's 6 month of traing totally wasted.

Life somehow seems like a ball game, we get acquainted to it based on what we learn from those around us and this is bound to be different with different people in different places.

Paradise for me doesn't exist or say one can decide what is paradise for his or herself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97