You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 19 Hours Of Steemit Posts - Gone Forever

in #life6 years ago

Oh grrrrrrrl, I know this pain, and it's a deep ache that also stings so bad!

A friend and I spent a year and a half traveling across three continents filming underground Circus Culture, and in the throws of editing the material, our camera, laptop, memory cards AND backup hardrive were stolen out of her car in Oakland.

Gone. All gone. I honestly just had to laugh, because what else could I do at that point....?

Sort:  

Omg, that's horrible!!!! Were you guys filming for a job??

I think the saddest part was I had a lot of stories/things my grandma said written down, and I'm not able to get it back. That's probably the biggest pain.

Well, that and losing a list of over 200 business ideas I had...but maybe it's good to get rid of those because I have too many ideas and they start to overwhelm me anyway.

I have to laugh a lot because something crazy is always happening haha.

Oh wow.... that part is heartbreaking, that your grandmas stories slipped away.... Is she still alive? Can you recapture those moments?

I feel you on the business idea part, maybe it is cleansing to release those ideas. ELizabeth Gilbert does an amazing TED talk on the nature of Genius, and that reminds me a lot of the metaphors she uses about ideas. . . Totally worth watching!

ANd yeah, I have to laugh about it all... I mean, there was sooooo much material, and its been sooooo long since we shot it, I don't actually even know what all was there.

I just wish that whoever stile the hard drive at least looked at the pictures and video before wiping it clean. . .

To answer your question: We were self-funding the tech and travel in the hopes of selling the finished documentary later on. . .

I won't be able to get them back. Thanks for the TED recommendation!

Man that's so cool that you guys were self-funding... I LOVE how gutsy you are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63857.77
ETH 3117.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87