You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your screaming and your blaming is only harming your own cause

in #life6 years ago

Perhaps things are a bit different in the UK. Here in the US, it is very common for someone non-white, regardless of economic background, to be assumed to be a criminal and/or engaged in wrong-doing. You grew up in a low economic background; your feelings are valid. But the question becomes: have you ever been assumed, on the basis of your skin color, to be a shoplifter, as soon as you enter a shop? Have you ever hung out with a group of your mates, and been told to disperse/questioned about "gang activity"/been randomly searched? Have you ever been told to "go back" to an ancestral homeland you've never seen?

Generally when people say to examine your white privilege, it's because there is a 95% chance that you've never been stopped, arrested, harassed, rejected, suspected, or fired based solely on your skin color.

You're a good guy, @raymondspeaks; it's just that in some parts of the world, you will get a pass or less scrutiny because you are a white male. Heck, it's been documented here in the US that Black people consistently received harsher sentences for the same crimes committed by white people.

I believe you are fighting the good fight and will continue to do so because it's the right thing to do.

Sort:  

Haha! Thanks for the open dialogue Summayah. I was hoping I'd get some insight.

Well, I grew up in an area that was 99.99% white, and we lived in the poor areas, so the Police were always stopping and searching us and suspecting us. There was a known gang in the area, and if you were young, you were suspected.

Also, I get told to fuck off back to my own country more and more now that there's growing tensions between England and Scotland, albeit never for my skin colour.

See, the way you explained it I can accept that. I can accept that there will be things I'll never experience because of my skin colour - I get that. I'll also teach my son that too! And to use it to help others - I just couldn't accept that way I was being assumed solely on a statement that I was making and that no-one bothered to ask me why! And if they did they'd see I was on their side!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85