You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Training for Getting What You Want

in #life6 years ago

I rely once again on a line from Max Ehrman's Desiderata that I will actually chant. "But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself." How many times do we sweat things that never come to pass, or do not turn out to be as unpleasant as we feared.

Sort:  

What a perfect way of putting it. I love the admonition also to appreciate "a wholesome discipline." That often gets lost at the opposite pole. Balance is so difficult for we humans.

You're making me think I need to go back and read Desiderata again. I read it in high school English, but that was a very long time ago.

I have a copy hanging on my wall in my shop. I have also wood burned one of my favorite lines in a piece of cherry and have it hanging in my livingroom.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62975.56
ETH 3112.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87