You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Put Off Visiting Your Grandparents

in #life5 years ago (edited)

What a great story - I only seen this now, should have sooner! It resonates with me. Aside from my sister, there is hardly anyone left in my immediate family. A cousin I have not seen in years. I am the patriarch but no clan to "rule" over. Everyone passed on by now, and my sons are an ocean apart from me (last time I seen them was 3 years ago, though we talk on Facebook).
Most people I had worked with are gone. Since coming back to Austria after my mom died in 2010, I had made friends in the artist community and then lost them again, going from one funeral to the next.

Sort:  

All of this really makes you wonder about the meaning of it all. It sure does emphasize the truth of impermanence. As we get older, the people that we knew start dying off at an exponential rate. It's at that point that we realize that the world we are in today is vastly different than the one we were in before. Such a bittersweet thing.

I just ran into a auction in Vienna where the very first wheels I ever owned as a teenager are sold. So looking back and then thinking: this was just like yesterday! Lohner Sissy.JPG
some 60 years ago!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88