You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Am Not Racist: A Twist In The Adoption Journey

in #life6 years ago

Hmmm, I can sort of understand the dilemma but unfortunately have no direct experience when it comes to adoption.

I will however say that you should do what you feel comfortable with.

With that being said there will always be different challenges with different children, regardless of skin colour, therefore I don't believe that should be the main concern. You could well end up having to play defense more for your white boy than the other way around. It will depend on their personal challenges they'll be facing in the world and at the hands of others. It's just the way it works.

I look at my kids for example and my daughter is just much more demanding and time consuming than my son, therefore he tends to get the short end of the stick most of the time. He will likely state that one day but all we can do is try and maintain the best balance possible and explain to him why things are that way.

Sort:  

That's so true! Thanks for that perspective, while I have thought of it before, your example has been quite a realisation and reminder that we really cannot predict the future, or plan our futures - I suppose we can only go with how we feel at the time, and take it from there. Thanks @therneau

I think sometimes we tend to overcomplicate things. My wife has taught me how to really just break things down into a simplified perspective. Black or white, there's no inbetween. Sure, there are variables like we need to look at the ,"this = and that =".
Glad I was able to refresh some thoughts and add a new perspective :)
It's a massive commitment which I salute you and hubby for and can understand the nervousness involved. I know you will make the right decision in the end. Remember, your first instinct is usually right too. Something people tend to dismiss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89