You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's Back! Fortune Cookie Fortune

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I hate detours - so I'm taking shortcuts as often as I can, particularly when walking or biking - and as a pedestrian, the shortcuts can really make sense. Even with the boat I'm finding myself doing more and more shortcuts. To me, "shortcut" is a positively charged word. Adding to that, on side roads there are usually much more to see and experience than on the main road ... and the air is definitively fresher along forest trails than on the highway.

Although map and GPS technology has come really far, I still find myself a bit like in your granddads situation quite often. When walking, there are still times when one looks at the map and just considers "of course, it must be possible to get from that place and over there, I'll save myself from a 300 metres detour by going there". Usually one really saves a lot of walking that way - but every now and then one ends up having to go through private gardens, go back the same way one came, or have to get through some dense forest. The signs are almost always designed for the car drivers, like, I believe a great majority of the stub-signs here in Norway are either due to regulations stopping motor drivers to continue, a gate designed to stop car drivers from driving there, or the road stops but it's possible to continue along a path through the forest. Every now and then, one ends up on a real stub - and that's bad, particularly when one is walking and have to walk all the way back again.

Of course, countless of times I've ended up having to walk or carry my bike through the forest, countless of times I've ended up wasting twice as much time trying out a new "shortcut" as what I would have done following the suggestions from Google Maps.

One particular case; I joined a group of mothers going for a walk with prams and babies in the forest, along the forest roads. We came to a cross road, we realized we had gone the wrong way (and I guess that was partly my fault). Instead of going back to the previous cross road, we decided to take a "shortcut". I guess I was partially responsible for that decision. The trail looked perfectly OK from the cross road, we could continue with our prams without problems ... but of course, the longer we got on that road, the worse it got, and in the end we ended up having to carry the prams most of the way. I don't remember the details ... but probably I could have done that "shortcut" in 15 minutes without a pram, and we probably spent something like 1.5 hours on that "shortcut". In retro-perspective, we should of course have turned around and gone back as the trail got worse.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99