It's Back! Fortune Cookie Fortune

in #life6 years ago

You Just Don't Know When To Quit, Do You?

Nope. Based on the last Fortune Cookie Fortune post I did, people either thought I was crazy, sought to give me life advice, or decided I was attempting to be humorous. Emphasis on attempting.

I appreciate any and all comments, so don't worry if you think I'm off my rocker, need help or aren't that funny. Comment away. I will, however, try to be more clear about what I'm doing with these fortunes, even if I have to figure that out for myself.

No Shortcuts.JPG
Image by Glen Anthony Albrethsen

First A Story

When I first saw this—Don't be tempted by shortcuts—they're never worth it in the end—I immediately thought of the shortcuts my Grandpa would take when I was a boy, probably not more than 12. Back then, cars didn't come equipped with GPS, your smartphone didn't give you directions (there were no smartphones), and there was no such thing as OnStar. No, you carried physical maps and you poured over them before and during your trips to make sure you were going the right way, along with the road signs.

Except if there weren't any road signs. Then you went with the map. Except if you were taking a less traveled road that cut through the Idaho wilderness, then you kind of guessed at what was happening because it didn't show up that well.

Which is precisely what my Grandpa decided he would do one summer afternoon. I don't remember where we were (other than somewhere in the panhandle of Idaho), where we were going, or what the circumstances were. I just know that the shortcut on paper took twice as long to transverse as the main road. What's worse, a cousin of mind who was staying with my grandparents for a couple weeks, too, got car sick really easily, so we stopped at least once to let him out so he could try to recover from all of the curves we were constantly slowing down for.

Strangely enough, once we got off that road, my Grandpa got a ticket for driving too fast trying to make up for lost time with his shortcut.

At the time, I didn't think anything about taking the shortcut. I loved my Grandpa (he's since passed on but I still do), and it was an adventure, except for my cousin turning green with me in the backseat. Now, though, I recognize that what we did wasn't necessarily safe, since it could have been hours or longer before anyone came across us if we had stalled or needed some kind of assistance.

In that way, shortcuts, I've found, are very rarely that. In miles, they may be shorter, but in actual time taken to drive, not-so-much. I have tried shortcuts on occasion, and under the right circumstances, you can shave off time. However, there's almost always a higher risk involved, one that would not be worth it if you go over a ravine and get seriously injured or die from the impact.

Back To The Fortune

As far as any real interpretations of this fortune, let alone applications, I think it's important there be context, especially since I've more or less learned the lesson of actual, physical shortcuts. Right now, there's not much going on in my life where shortcut taking is a possibility, and less an allure. The only thing of any major significance where shortcuts could apply is STEEM.

Now, I know many don't believe in Fortune Cookie Fortunes. I don't either. I've made fun of it in the past, but I don't believe there's someone in the restaurant eyeing the customers and saying, "Give him this one." They've got a box or bin of fortune cookies, they're grabbing the one on top, and they're all pre-packaged and coming from somewhere else.

However, I find it very peculiar that I keep getting ones that have something to do with what's going on in my life, or at the very least, can be directed that way. So, what then, would constitute taking shortcuts on Steem?

I think that's a very good question, and probably could be addressed outside the scope of a Fortune Cookie Fortune post. However, the three things that I have contemplated doing lately, mainly because of posts I've read in the last couple weeks, for and against, is self-upvoting, leasing delegation and buying votes.

To date, I have not done any of it, at least not intentionally. Nor do I intend to. I've been on Steemit for six months now, 10-12 hours a day, 5-6 days a week, so I'm not an oldtimer, but I can't really be classified as a n00b either. However, the idea of doing one or all of them has crossed my mind more than once over the last couple of weeks.

Now, I haven't really thought of them as a shortcut, so that might not even be the message. And, since I'm not on board with the whole Fortune Cookie Fortune thing, I'm not about to ascribe anything to it. All I'm saying is, these fortunes get me thinking about things going on in my life and maybe what I could do about it and that's pretty much it. It becomes a time to reflect on things, more than advice or confirmation of what I'm doing.

Plus, I think it's fun to throw it out there for discussion. Breaks up the monotony. Who else is providing you with Fortune Cookie Fortunes? Okay, there's probably hundreds of us out there. Regardless, taking time to reflect on what's going on in life, regardless of the catalyst, is a good thing.

So, any shortcuts of any kind you've been contemplating (doesn't have to be related to STEEM in anyway)?
Any experiences with shortcuts where you learned they weren't so great? Maybe the opposite?
Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94