Who would I be if I did not _____?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

For years and years I have taught myself to fit in by pleasing others.

Seeking their good opinion of me. Seeking their admiration from being good.

( I'm not in the game for being good through obedience).

I've been the playing the game of being successful.
I hope to make a good impression.
I hope I have many talents and it is important to me that these are recognised.

At the same time, I have a self hate story running.

( I hate myself for having these insecurities (which is a little ironic since self hate doesn't make me more self confident...I privately belittle the people whose approval I seek. Those who admire and appreciate me whose opinion I wasn't seeking, I devalue the worth of their opinion).

So overall I both seek and am repulsed by the attention I seek.

Still I try to ground myself by staying conscious of my thoughts. It helps to see my own illusions.

When I do this, I catch my mind chatter.

Often, it is arguing over some future scenario I am create in my own head.

Then what helps is this...I ask myself...what emotion am i creating?

For example, my mind chatter might be imagining an conflict with a family member, for example X. I realise the fantasy is generating a feeling of blame. This is the purpose of the illusion.

So then I say something like...who would I be if I wasn't blaming X?

The answer that calms back is always a feeling. It's a sense of feeling calmer, safer and more at peace.

This is the real me. Or at least, closer to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71