You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Teenage Pregnancy: A Birth-Father's Perspective

in #life6 years ago

Thank You for sharing your story.
As a genealogical researcher I learned early on that when it came to adoptions/adoptees the rules go out the window in so many areas that you begin to wonder if all of a sudden you went into a bizzaro world and did not know it.

You went from thinking you had rights to finding out you really didn't and getting the records unsealed just to find out who you were many times became a financial quagmire and hoops to jump thru.

Many folks still to this day do not understand basic human right to know where you came from and find out what medical issues you may face in the future due to your genetics.
Most adoptees have no medical history (parents to young to know to share it).

Some of the horror stories I saw and witnessed as a researcher would destroy most people just getting the records unsealed for an hour by hateful judges (who did target individuals for daring to ask "Who am I").

The cost to file the paper work, hire someone who would be trust worthy to read the documents (most adoptees were not allowed to see the records them self), and if you wanted a copy of a document a request form ($$$) had to be filled out and submitted to the said judge and another date set to get it at a cost that could go into the hundreds per document all for daring to ask Who am I...

One client (in a heart to heart discussion) told me I don't care if she (birth mother) is a whore, she is my whore and it is my right to know her...

From that day on I became an advocate for adoptees...
As a researcher I pushed hard for laws to be changed so that open adoptions became the norm and not the exception.

Your child will be blessed to know you both cared enough to let her have a life.
Again thank you for telling your story...

Sort:  

Genealogical stuff is big where I live, for obvious reasons. I suspect you probably have used tools setup by the Church here, just because of how involved they are in that.

Part of why we decided to stay in contact was to be sure that medical history could be shared more freely.

Thanks for the kind words and the insight into some of the struggles others have had.

Yes I am very familiar with the LDS ;-)
Most of my clients were men and their wives trying to find medical information for their children.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89