You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Surviving the blue screen!

in #life5 years ago

Ugh. You couldn't pay me to "upgrade" to Windows 10. Isn't that little emoticon frowny face the most condescending thing ever?

I did give it a try. It was pre-loaded on an old Thinkpad I bought on eBay. But it was constantly downloading and installing updates in the background. I'd be sitting there quietly composing my thoughts and then the fans would start spinning and the laptop would get hot enough to sterilize a bull.

Combine that with the fact that the Windows 10 licence actually gives Microsoft permission to record your voice, analyze your handwriting (if you're using a tablet), and provide Microsoft with a log of all of your keystrokes, and I've decided I just can't consent to using it any more.

I installed Linux and now I feel like I actually have some control over my computer. Plus, the battery lasts twice as long.

I keep Windows 8 installed on one machine because I just can't break up with Photoshop yet, and I can't get my flatbed scanner to work with Linux. But I actually feel guilty every time I fire it up. Is that crazy?

Sort:  

I'm still using Windows 8. I disabled all updates back when they were sneaking Windows 10 on everybody so I guess that's why that driver wasn't working properly anymore.
I got Endless on an old laptop but I have yet to test it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82