You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Death and thoughts of leaving.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

My dearest Serena – I fear you greatly underestimate the significance of your presence here; we'd notice far faster than you imagine we might. Of that, I'm quite sure.

I, for one, very much appreciate 'the weirdness that is Serena.' You're one of my favorite people on this platform...hands down.

I adore your tender heart and its poetic leanings – there's a delicate magnificence in its language; an eloquence that speaks directly to the most vulnerable parts of me.

In fact, the effect of your soulful songs is not so unlike the way Elliott Smith's songwriting has always moved me. 'Between The Bars' will always be one of my absolute favorites. Your rendition is gorgeous, of course. The two of you are kindred spirits – that part of you that wants to disappear; he shared that desire.

I saw him perform live, twice – once at Amoeba Records on Haight Street and then again at this tiny little dive bar in SF. He was so close I could've reached out and touched his face. Between songs he'd take a puff off his cigarette, then tuck it between strings on the head...smoke billowing in patterns as he played.

It was so obvious that he didn't like the attention – he was incredibly transparent, and appeared so uncomfortable with all of our eyes on him. Yet he made himself do it, anyway. And he was so humble and gracious when I approached him with a poster I'd torn from the wall. I still have that, somewhere; wrinkled tape still stuck to the bottom edge – his signature scrawled across his moody likeness.

I was in Taiwan when he killed himself. I sobbed for hours when I heard the news, then again, each time I heard his songs....I'd cry a little – for years after that. Yes...I was that much of a fan. He was such a brilliant, tortured creature. His influence on me can primarily be heard in the way I finger-pick – with just my thumb and forefinger – just as he did.

I hope you don't disappear for a very long time to come. But...for what it's worth, I'd mourn the loss of you just as surely as I've mourned the loss of Elliott. Please don't go yet.....k?

Warm Hugs and Cookies,
xo • zippy

steemit-posts(rw)-4.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92