ADSactly Literature - 5 Children's Authors To Read With Your Kids

in #literature5 years ago


Image

I’ve always been of an opinion that children’s books have hidden benefits. For adults, I mean. I think they have rather obvious benefits for children, don’t you?
I’m part of a lot on online bookish communities and one question that I hear a lot is how to get children to read? And it’s a great question, because reading is a practice that needs to be cultivated from very early on in a child, otherwise it will be much harder to make it a daily practice in adulthood. I know many adults who used to read as children, but now don’t, and that’s a shame. But I don’t know any adults who never read as kids and now read voraciously. Perhaps they are out there, but I think they’re very rare.
So, parents or grandparents or older siblings need to take an active role if they want the little one to grow into someone who reads constantly as an adult.
Now, how do you do that? I’ve heard a lot of people say that you teach by example, that if a child sees you reading, he will imitate. And while it is important to set a good example like that, I don’t think it’s the best method. Because reading is by definition alone time. You’re not really there when you’re reading, you’re off in some imaginary world and the child picks up on that. And he feels left out.
So, while it is great if your kid sees you reading constantly, it’s even better to include him in your reading. It’s very important to read together, even after the child has finished the traditional period of reading with someone, you know?
It can be perfectly fine to read with an eight year old or an eleven year old, even though they can read for themselves. And some choose to do so and that’s great, but others crave the company of their parents. Some kids are likely to say ‘meh’ when it comes to reading by themselves but they’re less likely to say that when it’s about reading with a loved one. And besides, there are loads of great children’s books that can be enjoyed both by kids and adults.

1. Roald Dahl


Image

This one’s a classic and I won’t dwell on him, because seriously, if you’re not familiar with Dahl’s work, you need to stop reading this post and just go read one of his books. But chances are, you at least know of him. Mathilda, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, The BFG – all turned into classic movies since and all of them excellent books. They’re crazy, but they’re from the heart and they have this truly fascinating habit of touching upon the darker parts of life, as well.
All of them are excellent reads for the whole family, precisely because Dahl is such a witty writer, who paints a very vivid real world, yet still allows for a loophole where magic can exist.

2. David Walliams


Image

Dubbed by many ‘a modern day Roald Dahl’, British comedian David Walliams has taken both his home island by storm, as well as the rest of the world. Something he has in common with Dahl is the gritty, true-to-life depiction of his characters. Constantly, in Walliams’ work, there is an evil character who you sort of know. From the self-centered abusive step-mom to the bad dads of the world, kids are going to recognize a little of their own world in Walliams’ words, as will parents, which makes these ideal for a family-read.

3. Chris Riddell


Image

Filled to the brim with great references – from the Mona Lisa to classic literature, to modern day Simon Cowell gags, Chris Riddell’s books suck you into this whole new world. Set in Victorian times, his Goth Girl series is part family drama, part supernatural mystery and it’s just great. Again, it’s a fun book to read with the kids because a) you can explain some of the references and it gives you a great chance to talk with your child and expand his general knowledge in a fun way and b) it’s just good writing, really. The characters are relatable and it’s an easy read.

4. Neil Gaiman


Image

Ah yes, one of my favorites. And like with Roald Dahl, if you’re not familiar with this guy’s work, shame on you. He’s written for all ages. No, he’s written great stories for all ages, which is really a rather rare thing to see.
I believe that what makes a children’s author great is his or her ability to understand the world of children. It’s all good and dandy to write about something you think your kids might like, but it’s completely different to actually put yourself in their shoes, address real issues that kids face.
And Gaiman manages to do that in this great sort of way that appeals both to kids and to adults, who are really just children at heart.
Although Coraline is his most famous book for kids, I would rather recommend reading The Graveyard Book and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. But that’s just personal preference, they’re all great books. Again, they deal with real problems like divorce and death and all these things that are difficult for kids to understand. And they’re funny and they’re dark and they’re sometimes sad, and in typical Gaiman style, they’re beautifully written.

5. Dav Pilkey


Image

I’m ending this list in a rather silly tone, but still some great writing. Both in his Captain Underpants series and his Dog Man comic series, Pilkey has this great mix of humor (sometimes yes, lavatory humor, but what’s wrong with that?) and true life issues. His Captain Underpants books are a middle-school series, but not your typical middle-school series. It’s not just ah, the teachers are terrible, girls are weird and all that (a very popular theme, but not very developed, in my opinion). Pilkey touches upon life truths, censorship and a lot of interesting “serious” subjects as well. They’re deliciously funny books and it’s pretty much guaranteed your kids will love them!


So, what’s your favorite children’s book?

Authored by @honeydue

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

Very attractive and guiding your post, @honeydue. I admit I haven't read those authors; I know some of the stories from the film versions. I belong to another generation, and my references in universal children's books are others, such as the classics The Little Prince or Alice in Wonderland, or more contemporary such as Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox o Angry Arthur by Hiawyn Oram, among others. Of Venezuelan production there are several excellent, but difficult to access because of its low diffusion outside the country, such as A lady with a hat by Jacqueline Golberg, Chamario by Eugenio Montejo, Mouse and vampire are known by Yolanda Pantin, for example). Thanks for your post, @honeydue.

Hmm I've only heard of The Little PRince and Alice from your list (I felt both those were already too well-known and that many kids know them, Alice definitely), but I will check the others out when I get a chance :)
I always enjoy a good story, be it for children or adults! Thank you for commenting!

Although I have no children, I have four nephews to whom I have always read stories. In two of them the pleasure of reading has flourished, the other two have other more human tastes. LOL. Of the children's books you mention, some I know but in the cinematic versions. One of the books I liked reading to my nephews and nieces is Fernando el furioso. This book teaches them not to be in a bad mood and to be happy. I also like the story La mujer del sombrero (The Woman in the Hat), a book that helps to understand that there is death, that there are loved ones who leave and don't return. Reading to children is one of the most rewarding experiences, but it is also a challenge. Children are very demanding and curious receivers, and we must always be up to them. Thank you for sharing this list, @honeydue.

Haha more human tastes? :P Because reading is so vicious and inhumane, right? ;)

Jokes aside, I love Fernando, but I haven't read The Woman in the Hat. It's a very difficult topic to explain to children, so I definitely will look for it and read it if I can. I'm always curious to see how authors touch upon such delicate subjects. Thank you for commenting! :)

Interesting post. Makes us return to childhood when we began to be interested in reading books. and I'm sure every child must have an idol story. Reading books with heroic stories are favorites. Can be comic or novel. In my childhood I read traditional stories published in magazines. when school begins to become interested in detective and adventure stories. Even in college I still like reading Japanese comics like Detective Conan, Dragon Ball. All interesting stories will make us dissolve and want to find a continuation

Thank you @honeydue
Thank you @adsactly
Thank you steemit
Warm regard from Indonesia

You've already said it, if you don't or haven't read this books, shame on you. OK, shame on me, I haven't read any of these books and am sure I do read to an extent when I was young to be considered a book worm.

Books like King Solomon mine, black tulip, Gulliver's travel and the likes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Reading is essential for those who seek to rise above the ordinary.@adsactly thanks for sharing those suggestions of books collections that suit both adults and children, #family #ties

Your premise that children will be more drawn to reading by reading with them makes perfect sense. And I agree that that approach is more beneficial to a child than for a child to just witness an adult read. But, I do think there's tremendous value in a child witnessing an adult (especially a parent) reading. Children learn from their parents by example as we all know. Although as an adult I have become a fiction reader. When I was growing up watching my father read 3-4 newspapers a day lead to my becoming a newspaper reader. Thank you for your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62