To have children or not to have children, that is the question

in #live5 years ago


My children are my eyes my soul. They are little pieces of my hart running around on this earth, while I try to give them protection of the dangers as much as I can. I love them the most in the world above anything, even above my Husband. 


But still, live would have been fine without them.  I am able to enjoy live on my own, they are not the sole reason to live. But now I have them, I would die for them, if nessesary.

I fear the future, as many people do. I can feel the fear with any desision taken on political scale. Walls to build, brexit Europe, right wing parties getting into power, war in Syria, Yemen and many things that don’t make the main news give me this feeling. Famine and drought will cause people to move, and the haves, like me, want to protect their offspring.  I fear famine for my children or that they need to fight for theirs lives. Why do I fear this? Where did this come from. What do I want to protect them from?  

I reality, many people in the world haven’t had it as good as we have it now. We have enough food to feed the world. With genetic engineering we could have enough food several times over. Technology is moving fast to cure more diseases, to have whatever a human needs, and money should not be part of that equation.

The problem is we always want our offspring to have it as good as we have it ourselves or better. While we as humans should thrive to have enough for everybody. Our primal fear that their isn’t enough for our children drives us apart.

To have children or not to have children? Without them this fear wouldn’t be there in my opinion. This drive for more and fear there won’t be enough, would become less. 


Sort:  

Interesting question

You know, as I read your piece, I questioned why I want to have children.

While I don't think the evils in the world is enough reason to not have children, I agree that children contribute to the problems indirectly.

Honestly, I would say not having children is the best cause. If you feel like raising a child, there are so many children looking for homes.

Over here in my country, politicians would bleed the country dry just so that their friends and family members have it good. I figure that if there were no one to inherit their [ill-gotten] wealth, their contentment level will probably be lower

But then, I'm selfish and egoistic. I want my own. I want to think my own semen spawned a mancub. I want to be able to join other parents as they talk about the challenges of raising children. (plus, I think my gf really wants to play mother)

I understand your reasoning exactly. I wanted my own as well, maybe driven by instinct, curiousity or selfishness? Who knows.

Hello @hefziba! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85