I Saved a Rat and a Lizard

in #lizards6 years ago

image
Most people wouldn’t save a rat but maybe this guy will take a new outlook on life and not chew up people’s car engine wires anymore.

Also I saved a lizard. I thought he was dead because he was on his back swirling around in the water tornado the skimmer makes. I picked him up and he woke up and flipped over.
image
image
He had to warm back up before he ran away.

Sort:  

We've found a wide variety of snakes in our pool, as well as numerous moles - poor little blind things. We have yet to discover a rat though. I have a strange affection for rodents, I'd save it in a heartbeat too.

Snakes get in there as well and have a hard time getting out. There have been some pretty colorful ones in the past.

Our best was a red and black striped scarlet king snake. I had fun recalling the kindergarten rhyme "red and black, your okay jack; red and yellow, your a dead fellow" to tell it apart from the poisonous coral snake. :)

Damn man what did you do with that Rat after you saved it ?? Put it in your yard ;)

You better man than me Phobos. My wife would have high tailed it out of there and not come back until I had an Exterminator come out and ..well exterminate that rodent lol :)

I dumped it out of the net over the otherside of the wall. But they can get back in to be honest. They always find a way.

Some good karma points comming to you @brianphobos for saving animals.

I'm like you, I definitely have a lot of empathy for animals, the other day I was riding down the street and saw a squirrel half runover and clearly still alive, stuff like that sticks in my head and bothers me for like a week afterwards so I always try to help animals if I see them injured or abandoned.

This is sorta unrelated but kinda a cool animal story. I used to have birds, I had a couple love birds, parakeets, and a few cockatiels. I remember one day I was on my back deck letting my birds walk around and I saw a bird looking at me so I held out my hand. To my surprise this wild bird flew right over and landed on my finger. My gf to this day never believes me when I tellher that story.

I know what you mean about seeing a hurt animal bothering you for a long time. I hit a dog once on the highway 8 years ago and it still haunts me. There was nothing I could do. I jammed on the breaks but there was no slowing down enough.

That is pretty cool about the bird. Growing up I was always trying to get close to animals. Like try to sneak up on them and pet them. One time there was a deer my sister and I snuck up on a deer and to our surprise it suddenly saw us and then wagged it's tail and came over to us and then we were freaked out. It turned out that it had actually been raised since birth by someone that lived a couple miles away. It wasn't fully grown yet but it didn't still have its spots or anything.

haha nice work legend. Youre a hero.

ps I got your message about the EOS hackathon on Tokyo. and also saw your dev tools for EOS. thanks for that.

Right now my wife Katie has two months left learning java but she's considering bailing early to start working on some python projects for steemit. we'll see

EOS is cracking right now. lovely day

Posted using Partiko Android

That is cool. Yeah I got back to them too late to be included in the Hong Kong event but that is ok.

If I would have been selected I think I would have really kicked my game up an extra notch for sure some I didn't look like a fool at the Hackathon.

As I'm sure we have all found out many times over there is an infinite amount to learn so about the time we feel like we are understanding something or getting a handle on it then there are so many other people that are on a completely different level.

Even doing the stuff that I have done so far with EOS was really wearing me out mentally just trying to tie everything together. It is tough to build a foundation and start building off that knowledge and even knowing if you are really following any kind of best practice or if you are actually doing something really amateur compared to people who are working on this 100% of the time.

Unfortunately for me it is just as profitable for me to talk about how my weird drinks taste and to take pictures of flowers as it is to talk about technical stuff. So it makes it tough.

Yea, I feel you. I go back and forth between posting pics and creating video content.

I'll be at the Tulip Conf in SF next week. They have some EOS devs doing a 3 day workshop on programming EOS. My wife is a python dev, so she's attending. She does python and java script.

What languages do you focus on/

Honestly I'm more of a system admin / network admin type guy but then I ended up doing a decent amount of web development with PHP and ASP.Net but honestly I got somewhat rusty on that and a lot of what I knew about Javascript has evolved a lot since I was working with a lot as well.

On a lot of stuff I'm more of a guy who can somewhat look at it and get it implemented but not sit there and code day after day and code something complex.

OK I will say it, @brianphobos You are a Good Guy..........

Hahha, Well thanks. I don't like to step on bugs either. :-)

Nice post dear....

haha nice work legend. Youre a hero.

ps I got your message about the EOS hackathon on Tokyo. and also saw your dev tools for EOS. thanks for that.

Right now my wife Katie has two months left learning java but she's considering bailing early to start working on some python projects for steemit. we'll see

EOS is cracking right now. lovely day

Posted using Partiko Android

You're really rad for doing this. I wish this post was newer so I could full power upvote it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94