Sometimes No One Notices How Hard You Have Failed

This is a shot of the Acropolis on top of Calton Hill in Edinburgh, Scotland. A long exposure at night with a clear sky where a full tends to shine as brightly as the sun.. This structure at the top of a prominent hill in the centre of the City is what gives Edinburgh the rather imaginative nickname: "The Athens of the North".


IMG_3922.PNG
Be sure to click on the image to view full screen!

So check out this shot.. what do you think? Nice right? Looks pretty good? When I posted it online I had several requests for a printed version from interested people who wanted to buy it. It turned out ok but it was not at all what I had actually planned for. In fact it is a total fail, and when I show you the context you will understand..

So I have illustrated in the below image why I messed up. I took this picture at a time when venus and mars were both visible in the night sky and would appear near the moon every evening. Now unfortunately you cannot see red glow of mars in the photo but it was quite clear to the naked eye. So that's unfortunate screw up number 1. Unfortunate screw up number 2 is the fact that originally I had intended to make a light trail photo of the International Space Station passing over head between venus, mars and the moon.. I was all ready for it.. I tracked the station as it moved across the sky (it appears as a fast moving white dot in the sky).


IMG_3922_edit.jpg

Unfortunately, just as it reached the moon it disappeared! What the hell? Where did it go? Turns out it passed into the planet's shadow just before it reached the moon, meaning the sun's light no longer reflected off it, meaning you couldn't see the tell tale white dot as it screeched across the sky.

So.. although you cannot see it, the ISS is passing through this photo.. Unfortunate screw up number 3 is the fact that the foreground is out of focus where I wanted the foreground and background to be completely in focus. That is something I didn't notice at first but when I did .. well its all I can see now.

So now that I've pointed it out you can see what an abject failure this image was. Has this ever happened to you? You planned a shot that totally screwed up and didn't happen the way you wanted it to, but then in the end the result was still liked by people who didn't notice the difference?


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

Had you said nothing, I would think this is a very cool photo. Even after all you have said, I still think this is a very cool photo.

So before you discount yourself, I also noted that you're a member of @thealliance, and based on what I've read so far, that's a pretty smart move. I want to join, too.

In a group of photog peers, they may find agreement with your assessment, but for people like me who just like cool pics, I think you got a great shot. Carry on.

Thanks, I appreciate that :) The photo itself did turn out ok, it just wasn't what I had planned ;) I highly recommend joining @thealliance if you can, they're a wonderfully supportive and friendly bunch. You'll have to jump through some hoops to join but its well worth the effort!

Thanks for stopping by :)

I have always maintained that we, as artists, are always hardest on ourselves. Yes... you had this shot very nicely planned out. But even though is did not happen the way you wanted it to... it is an incredible capture.

Thanks! yes we certainly tend to criticise ourselves the most, but i think it's a good thing, its certainly something that helps me to strive to improve and continuously do better :)

That is the truth!

Thanks for sharing something you yourself consider as a fail and the story behind your original intention for the photo. Which btw I think is awesome, but I get that this wasn't your plan. I'm always super interested in hearing stories like this, shows us all the different sides to photography and the passion for it. If we were any wiser, we would just shut the fuck up and put the "failed" pictures up, and no one would even know!

I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I think its a valuable thing to share, because although I enjoy maintaining the mystique that I am awesome and never screw up, its by far not the case and analysing and sharing your own mistakes often helps me and hopefully others to learn from it and avoid making the same mistakes themselves :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T17:21:09
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 566.92/800.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

The Athens of the North, it truly is 💚

It sure is :) It was also considered a very enlightened city with the University here which was founded in 1582 (and is incidentally where I work!). That also helped contribute to the nickname.

Haaaaaaa yes, just about every story I write that happens to me :D

welcome to my world, this Photo of errors IS beyond beautiful, breathtaking and I can not even imagine being able to see this in person.

Did you ever think that maybe your errors and the photo more stunning? not all in focus and perfect? to give a bit of imagination to the person looking at it as it looks a bit more real then :D

Just my thoughts :D

Thanks @snook :) I hadn't thought of it like that. I'm usually so focused on getting things 'just so' that I lose sight of the potential for creative interpretation by the viewer :) Thank you for you thoughts!

you are very welcome :D it really is a very cool photo :D so deal with it LOLLLLLL

lol! thanks :)

I would have never even given it a second thought if you hadn't mentioned it. We are our own worst critics right? And for good reason ;)

Thanks, and yes, quite true, but I think that helps push us to improve ourselves :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00