A day in the life of a Crohn's Chick part 3: A little jab here and a little jab there...

in #loveyourguts5 years ago

Hello Everyone!

Thank you for checking out my third post for the series "A day in the life of a Crohn's Chick" you've all been so amazing and supportive with all my projects and posts on here so far! Here's a meme to kick off this post about Humira injections!

meme 18.jpg

Like seriously, how many bloody jabs do I really need in my life?! A lot apparently haha.

The newest and fantastical medication I am on is called Humira, and for those who didn't see my last post on Tuesday about Humira, It's classified as a biologic medication as it is created from the stem cells of mice... freaky right?!
Well, that is my new medication, just one in the long line of dozens of medications I have been on to treat my chronic illnesses. And to think I used to be super scared of needles haha!


After hundreds of blood tests, infusions and drips in and out of hospital you tend to not be so squeamish about it aha!
Funny story time! (ps some people will not find this funny but I certainly did)

Last year in one of my 4 admissions to have a colonoscopy and endoscopy, my cannula (the big needle that they put in your arm/hand etc to give you drips and meds through) had started sliding out and all the meds started going into my muscles rather than my bloodstream... (This isn't the funny part, read on!)

meme 19 2.jpg

So, in walks, the junior doctor (aaannnddd you can see where this is going already!) and he removes the cannula to put a new one in my other arm. At this point, I am pretty doped up on pain killers so I'm pretty out of it but the poor guy just couldn't find the vein so he's rooting around until he finally gets one... and hits it at the wrong angle so blood starts going everywhere! It went on me, on him, on the bed and just as it happens one of the nurses walks in!

meme 23.jpg

The nurse then proceeds to tease him about my treatment and helps clean me up. Still makes me laugh cause she was this lovely little Arabic woman scolding and teasing a young male doctor twice her size with "What are you doing to my patient?!" and all that haha.

Anyway, it was funny to me but to some people I have told the story too, they didn't quite agree! Let me know in the comments what you think :)

To finish this post I am leaving a link to today's video on my YouTube channel 'That Crohn's Chick' which will run through everything you need to know about Humira and will also show a demonstration on how to administer the medication. And no you do not see the needle haha. Check it out and as always #loveyourguts and I'll see you tomorrow!

Sort:  

Wooaw..... Such an amazing episode you have in here. And now I can tell you not to worry cos your bro is here..... XD
I really enjoyed reading your blog over and over again. The flow and the way the story keeps linking is was awesome.. I really enjoyed your choices of pictures. You were amazing.
Great work and keep the writing spirit up always

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @crohnschick
I have to tell the truth: you are very brave to take the disease with a great sense of humor !! and yes, I think it was fun to see the Arab nurse scold the doctor! Have you been living with this disease for a long time? how did you realize you had it?
congratulations and thanks for sharing with us

Hi there :) thabk you for commenting on my post! And most of the time chronic illness is heartbreakingly depressing, if you cant have a little gig every now and then yoir probably in for a pretty miserable time! And ive had chronic illness most of my life, the most severe of them, crohns disease, started about 6 years ago. And i had no idea i had something like that. Id never even heard of it! But when i could feel something was wrong, but the doctors would say 'its all in your head" i had to push back and after about two years of constant hospital visits and every test known to mankind, i finally got diagnosed :) thank you for commenting on my story :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I understand you @crohnschick, me too have suffered from chronic headaches for a long time. Then a whole series of muscular pains were added, I couldn't even comb my hair! I seemed to go crazy. There was nothing in all the exams and the doctors told me I was depressed !! I wasn't, but I became one. Then my partner and I decided to leave everything and go around the world and now I'm better! Not healed but better, even if I always ride with half a backpack full of medicines! Good luck

Im glad to hear that even with the limitations if your health your still relishing life and seeing the world! Thats wonderful :) and i have a live chat every sunday at 8pm south australia time on my youtube channel if you ever feel like popping in to say hi I'll give you a shout out :) take care!

Posted using Partiko Android

ok thanks the invitation!

Hi crohnschick,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @crohnschick! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Your story is tragicomic, unfortunately. I see the funny side but can also see the tragic side. However, it's good thing you can laugh about it. I bet it's not the first time it happens to you. If you have a chronic illness and you're in and out of hospitals, you can't avoid this to happen. Doctors and nurses are not all the same, some are very good with needles, you don't feel a thing when they are taking blood, others can destroy your vein in a second.
I've seen a very unfortunate scene when I was in hospital a few years ago. A nurse tried to administrate antibiotics to an old lady through the cannula in her hand, the old lady told the nurse it hurts like hell, she didn't believe her, which resulted in the old lady having a very swollen hand. The doctor was called in, it was a huge scandal but the damage was done.
I also know that there are rules when it comes to blood drawing. My mom had pancreatic cancer, which meant one and a half year of chemo, so I have a little bit of experience, unfortunately.
So I know that if the nurse failed to take blood, the second time must be chosen a spot lower than the first, I mean father from the heart. This means you lowers arm or hand. I know nurses and doctors are human too and can make mistakes but chemo patients have their veins already destroyed, therefore there is no place for mistakes.
Anyway. I hope your arm is healed and not blue,green and yellow from the incident and wish this won't happen again, although there are no guarantees :) Get healthy soon :)

Aww thank you :) thats really sweet! Im sorry to hear you've been a witness to some particularly bad practices, it does happen unfortunately and yeah the poor guy was very new, (by some magic of the comic world i seem to always get them hahaha) i think its cause I'm nice and i dont mind them proding me to much so they can learn the job role. I'll betcha dollars to donuts that he hasnt made that mistake again! And yep, it wasnt the first time that had happened to me! By the way, im so sorry to hear about your mum and i hope her recovery and adjustment back in to life wasnt to brutal. Its always stressful having to adjust your life to incorporate your health in to everything. Thanks for messaging hun :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! Unfortunately she passed away after one and a half year of struggle. The survival rate of pancreatic cancer is very low, the disease is still considered largely incurable. the one-year relative survival rate is 20%, and the five-year rate is 7% source. It's the same disease that Patrick Swayze had, he passed away one moth after my mom.
About these mistakes, I truly hope those who are not fit to perform these blood draws will realize that soon enough and take a step back so they don't torture anyone if necessary. :)

Oh im sorry hunny, pancreatic cancer is brutal from what ive heard. And yes some people just shouldn't be armed with needles haha x

Posted using Partiko Android

Some people should stay away from medicine for good :D Let's hope we don't meet those 😁

Agreed 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65999.51
ETH 3019.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71