You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will anyone pick up Billy Graham's torch? A large void is left by the Death of Billy Graham. The Christian Church has no leadership.

in #maga6 years ago (edited)

I recently listened to a commentator who was distraught at the number of preachers actively seeking celebrity in Christ's name. There are thousands of preachers on Youtube and Vimeo along with enumerable weekly podcasts. Many churches put on a Sunday rock show and engage in outrageous antics to get attention.

This commentator's opinion was that Christianity should be about Christ and not weekly ratings.

The commentator, of course, had a show that was kicked off the local radio when he began questioning the preach Christ's name for fame industry.

The reason I mentioned this is that perhaps we don't need another super celebrity preacher ... but need people at large who discuss Christian ideals.

Sort:  

I understand your point... completely, but I strongly disagree. I think you really missed my point. Maybe you didn't clink the link and watch my video and read my text on bitchute (That is my bitchute channel and I made the video) The world may have thought of Billy Graham as a celebrity... The Church did not see Billy Graham as a celebrity and Billy Graham never thought of himself as a celebrity. Billy Graham died when he was 99 and was an Evangelist for over 60 years. He filled Football stadiums and he preached amazing sermons that reached people... Yes we can use that today. In my opinion it is crazy to suggest we don't need an Evangelist who fills Football stadiums full of tens of thousands of souls, with thousands being saved at each meeting. You actually prove one of the points I made that people don't give Billy Graham the credit he deserves. The USA has taken a steep nose dive since we had great Evangelists. And Billy Graham was an amazing preacher. He is missed. It is a sad thing that there is no one filling the void he left.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77