Style over substance? Who cares…Let’s do makeup! [The Love Witch]

in #makeup6 years ago (edited)

I’ve always been confused by the phrase ‘Don’t judge a book by its cover’ (which is an awful way of starting a post about makeup, but hear me out) because, ok I understand we must not assume that things or people are a certain way just by their appearance. But, really if after making a B O O K which took several months, maybe even years, you didn’t have time to consider the cover, girl…

This phrase is normally applied when something with a wonderful interior has an ugly or uninteresting exterior diffusing the attention that it deserves. The problem –and reason- why I’m bringing this up is because I think this movie, The Love Witch is suffering from a similar issue: The movie is so beautiful, campy and stylistically perfect that people just assume is eye candy, bad and without meaning. Because who on earth could make both happen? 

source

source

The name is Anna, babes, Anna Biller.

Now Anna, the creator of this film is quite the overachiever. This woman directed, wrote, edited, styled and designed the whole movie (Wow, Instant Girl crush!) On top of that she managed to produce a very interesting movie filled with feminist conundrums exposed in a realistic way. Well, as realistic as 60’s/70’s inspired movie can be.

I know what you’re thinking “is this going to be a film review or what? It said makeup on the title ugh FAKE NEWS” Now don't get Trumpy on me, makeup is coming I promise. 

Despite all the flowers I just threw at the film, I didn’t like it. I mean, I appreciate the technical aspects of it and the fact that it exists, that alone is a win for the modern film industry. It's just not my cup of tea. But that makeup tho… A MASTERCLASS IN EYELINER PEOPLE! Hgsjdgajkshdjas level I’m telling you! 

The protagonist Elaine (a refreshingly complex female character), played by Samantha Robinson, is impeccably styled throughout the film, giving you some real Lana Del Rey vibes, and tumblr aesthetic inspiration. Biller, described her in an interview with Oxygen as: 

"a mentally ill, pathologically narcissistic woman who is trapped in a patriarchy." (Source)

Sounds great! Let’s try to look like her shall we…

Ok, so actually this makeup wasn’t difficult at all, but it did feel very heavy. Definitely not a ‘let’s put this on everyday’ kinda makeup. But is SO MUCH FUN TO DO IT. Personally, I love love playing with makeup, I find it very relaxing. This one in particular made me feel curious about how it was going to turn out, because although I tend to do vintage-styled makeup regularly, I favor the 40’s/50’s elegant glamour a bit more, also I’m not really a fan of bright eyeshadows so going full bright blue was a thing for me.

   

 This is how I imagined it was going to turn out  

  What I did to recreate this look was: 

-Did my normal foundation and brow routine but baked a little to make the blue from the eyelids pop a bit more. (Also to avoid fallout) 

-Put on some blue eyeshadow (actually dark turquoise from a Victoria’s Secret palette) on the lid, going juuust a little bit over the crease (creating a new crease line), because I have hooded eyes so I wanted to make my eyes look a bit bigger. 

 

 -Then on the crease I added a pop of dark blue to create some depth.  

-Winged eyeliner ♥ 

-Just below the lower lashline I added some slightly smoky black eyeliner (originally the character just has a line made with liquid eyeliner, but again: my eyes are not as big/round as hers) 

-Then some white eyeliner on the waterline, mascara on the upper and lower lashes and voilà the eyes are done! (Should’ve used fake lashes but Ima thow a Zizek/Bartleby and go with ‘I would prefer not to’) 

-Then I slightly contoured my jawline, forehead, nose and cheekbones to define. Notice the word SLIGHTLY. I did so because Elaine uses a lot of blush, and I was scared that with the contour + blush I was going to look like a clown. 

-I added some highlighter on the high points of my cheeks, tear ducts, nose and my cupids bow. Then the blush. 

-Some warm toned red lipstick (Revlon’s 654 Ravish Me Red) 

And we are done folks! I present you ma face:

Don't smoke kids, that's bad.

I was surprised with the results, I didn’t look as over the top as I thought I would. Actually I quite like it! What do you think?

So as always, I hope you guys like my random rambling and please feel free to recommend me yours! (I’m new here and trying to find some cool blogs)

Read ya later.    

-Bárbara 

Sort:  

Oh, mah, GOD WOMAN. I love how it turned out. The makeup is impeccable.

Gracias, gracias

You look gorgeous and the makeup is on top ❤

Gracias mijitica se hace lo que se puede (niche) xD

Love your style of writing and choice of reference.
I don't know a damn thing about makeup, and the classic tutorials you see nowadays make me cringe. But if this is the kind of stuff you'll be doing, I'm in!

Oh god, SAME! That whole love for excess it's not really my style...I've been trying to find a way to share my love of makeup and the knowledge I have about it (not that much tbh 😂) without having to be so 'extra'...So I'm super excited by the fact that you liked this, because this is the first time I try post something related with makeup ❤🙌 Thanks for the support!

First time?! I wouldn't have thought so.
Keep making us laugh, your originality is refreshing.

Thank youu for reading and stopping by! :)

really fun post @purplevision, you had me laughing aloud a few times! Great eyeliner tips...I'm terrible at eyeliner but you've given me something to aspire to. And I hadn't heard of the movie but I'll at least take a look a the trailer to see if I want to go further. Thanks for some late night entertainment!

🙌🙌🙌 Wowwww thank you so much, I'm honestly so glad you liked it! I'll make sure to include some more eyeliner tips in the next one (call me crazy but I swear that the whole thing is mathematical)
The movie...you gotta prepare yourself for some 60s/70s cringe, if you like that kind of stuff you are going to like the movie! For me it was worth watching because of the costume/makeup part ❤

I love this look!!! I might try this out myself hahaha, one thing I would say though is to blend the eyeshadow so it doesn’t look like a harsh line. Apart from that it looks amazing especially the liner

Thank you! Make sure to tell me if you do try it!

I love this eye look!

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it Kiki♥

Lord, those are some sweet makeup skills :O How long did it take you, if I may ask?
And those wings....man, they're on point! I think it'd probably take me half a day tog et them to look so even and good....Haha, you've just inspired me to do wings ;)

Oh, and to answer the title question...why not both? <3

Well maybe an hour? What took me the longest was finding a blue eyeshadow, putting it on without accidentally making my whole face blue and then measuring where I was going to put the damn eyeliner, because if I screwed it up I'd have to do the whole thing all.over.again. xD

Oh, I know the feeling...and it's weird 'cause when you're super-stressed to get it right, you slip and when you're calm, you get it without even trying. Damn it!
I love make-up, although I'm usually in a hurry, so I don't get to work on it too much. Aaand I've always thought that blue would seem so...out there (although it's supposed to be great for brown eyes)...But I want to try this look one of these days ;)

That's exactly what I thought! Blue is just too much...I normally use earthy tones (if I even use eyeshadow) But this turned out quite cool, lately I'm getting into the whole 60's/70's aesthetic...probably because I just rewatched That's 70's show xD

Jeeesus, this show is everywhere - I just have to watch it (people keep telling me to! ). Maybe it will even push me to go all out with my makeup.
What a coincidence, I use earthy shades , too. Although I usually just put on some eyeliner and mascara....Oh, I do love gold eyeshadow. It's my go to shade when I want to do my eyes, but haven't got time to experiment.
<3

W h a t ? You've never seen that 70's show? I mean it's not gonna change your life or anything, but it's pretty funny and the outfits (especially Jackie's) are on point!
And we totally have the same taste in makeup! ♥

And we totally have the same taste in makeup! ♥

In my experience, that's a very good sign ;) <3

Oh shit I was wondering if I was ever going to find content like this on this seemingly male dominated platform. I applaud you!

Same, girl same! That's why I've been kinda doubting whether I should keep uploading makeup related stuff, but sjdhkjash I'll just do it. Thanks for your comment ♥
These are some amazing girls whose content might interest you:
@honeydue @sexdeathrebirth @claritagigi @osm0sis
Also if you're not in the Steemsugar's Discord channel get on it! Some more girlpower over there ♥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61918.40
ETH 2900.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64