You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Market Friday Goes to the Air Show - Part One

in #marketfriday5 years ago

We're not worthy! This is one of the coolest posts I've ever seen.

I have a couple of personal connections here.
The Golden Knights formerly trained and were based out of Yuma Proving Ground. It was one of my Dad's favorite outings, to spend a morning on the landing lawn at YPG while they were jumping. We did it often.

The Blue Angels winter at NAS El Centro. I know of at least 3 good viewing areas for when they are practicing. Pretty spectacular stuff.

The Memphis Belle (if that is the movie Belle) was previously owned by a friend of mine. He flew it as a Forrest Service fire fighter. He owned 3 B-17s that were leased as Fire Birds. When he retired, he sold the other two to the crews that flew them and listed that one. It was bought by the movie company who promptly hired him to oversee the reconfiguration to original form and to do the flying in the movie. Don Clark. Heck of a guy. He kept an ugly lump of metal on his mantle. It was a piece of a German 88 shell that stopped in his parachute (which they sat on) while he was flying a P-51.

I could keep telling Clark stories. Lots of stories. But I'll just say thank you for the whole day's worth of memories. You have no idea...

Sort:  

Oh I am so familiar with finding those perfect little spots to watch the action from! I have lived on the Flightline most of my adult life and to watch these amazing people, both the parachutist and the pilots and even the drivers of those Vehicles which actually I did not show yet oh, that will be four part 2. All of these things put together are simply mind-boggling. For someone like yourself who is aware and well versed in the ins-and-outs of the flying and such, it's a cool Factor. But for people who have never seen it, some don't even know of the rigorous training and everything that you must give up to make this dream come true. That is so absolutely cool that you have so many connections and I have many connections also, although different than yours, there's a bond binding us together just for having had them. If that makes any sense to you.

Birds of a feather and all that.

I want to thank you for one of the best comments that I have ever received and I want to hear more stories so, if you have it in you, I think that you should write a post on it and if and when you do please make sure that you tagged me because it is stories like these that keep the past alive. We should never let them die with us and by putting them on the blockchain, they will live forever. I look forward to seeing them and I want to thank you for stopping in and taking a peruse through the post. Be aware that there is going to be a part 2 next week. Have a most wonderful day and a an amazing weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Air Show - Part One Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62847.73
ETH 3173.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80