Maneki - Neko

A lucky charm the Maneki - Neko resembles a cat with its paw raising up. This can be found in stores which is told to bring luck and good fortune. Well that is not our topic for today but instead it is about a surplus shop with the same name. I needed to buy some plates to use in my food photography and I ended up taking photos of some interesting items.


Maneki - Neko

1.JPG

rip.png

Here in our country there are a lot of surplus shops with goods coming from America, Korea, Australia but the most popular goods comes from Japan. Although called surplus which should be excess stock which are unused but the truth is a large percentage of the goods are second hand. But if you have a keen eye you may find something beautiful and one of a kind.

I have been seeing this warehouse for quite some time now but never bothered to check the stuff that they have. Just outside you would see it says, "BIG BIG SALE" so let's have a look inside.

3.JPG

The first thing that caught my eye is this machine. Is it a video game or is it some type of pin ball machine? Correct me if I'm wrong but I think it might be a slot machine. Maybe there are collectors would love to buy these kinds of stuff.

4.JPG

Here is the Japanese owner although he is in our country. I have learned from @oen that Japanese are very private when it comes to online photos. I took the liberty to blur out his image out of respect of his culture.

5.1.jpg

This store is a warehouse and it is huge. I went here looking for some plates and I did not expect that there would be so many to choose from. Not only that, they also have a wide array of other stuff like furniture and trinkets. Never have I seen so much stuff which all came from Japan. I'm not sure what is the process when importing goods to our country. Probably they have a contact who sells them the stuff really cheap and have it shipped via containers. This store has been around for some time now which means they must be earning pretty well.

7.JPG

If you are looking for something unique or one of a kind here there might be something that you might like. I personally like this medieval knight although that knight on the left might be missing his weapon.

8.JPG

This figurine would look great as a display if you could get past that missing hand there. Well I guess not everything is in perfect condition.

Those wooden statues looks in perfect condition though.

9.JPG

Christmas is still far away but they have Santa figurines on display. I love that statue on the left and would have bought it. We must not get distracted as we only have enough budget for the plates that we needed.

10.JPG

In this glass case they have watches, earrings, necklaces and rings. Although the prices are a bit steep which would make you lose interest.

11.JPG

If you are looking for art pieces they also have those. I could only imagine that somewhere in some surplus shop there might be an artwork hidden away, accumulating dust which has been created by an acclaimed artist. Some may not be aware of their true value and would be quite a find if you stumble on one.

12.JPG

13.JPG

Here are the bowls and plates we were looking for. They are separated into two categories those with specific prices and those that are sold by the kilo. One kilo of ceramic plates cost around 150 pesos or $2.84. You would be getting just a few pieces as those ceramic plates are heavy.

14.JPG

There are different sorts of pots on sale which is very interesting.

15.JPG

Who loves blue? Cups and glasses all a bit dusty but still in good condition. You need to be very selective as some has tiny chips and cracks. Over all the ones with specific prices is high and by adding a few pesos you would be able to buy a new one. But again there are some plates which are quite unique and cannot be bought anywhere else. I think that would be worth paying for.

16.JPG

Different sorts of vases and jars.

17.JPG

Time is always an essence and they have a lot of clocks here, some looks a bit old.

18.JPG

19.JPG

Japanese dolls is an art form and they have a couple on sale. Enclosed in glass cases didn't bother to check for the price as I know they would be very expensive.

20.JPG

21.JPG

Looks like they have a meal ready on the table. Would not mind to help myself with some tempura. Hold on those are fake food which is popular in Japanese restaurant display window. They look so good to eat and looks ridiculously real. Makes me want to go out have have some Japanese food.

22.JPG

23.JPG

I'm not sure if anyone would still buy some old cd players and speakers. They still have lot on stock are interested in buying one?

24.JPG

Old DvDs, CDs and I even see an old PS2 game there. These will be here for a very long time unless someone is looking for something specific like the original DVD of the OC.

25.JPG

I got a couple of plates which I already used in some of my food photography and it was actually a good find. It was an interesting place to visit with a lot of cool things to see. Thanks for joining me in this Japanese surplus shop and I hope you found something that caught your eye. Do share your thoughts and comments.

Used items which are neglected could be another man's treasure.

26.JPG

All photos are original and shot from
Maneki Neko Japan Surplus

rip2.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

Nice to see you and I Upvoted you :) !
:
“We think we like or love some people until we see them regularly.” ====> Mokokoma Mokhonoana

Thanks for visiting. Love the quote.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Whooah! Didn't realize that there is a lucky cat just hanging around. That was surprising. I pray one day fortune smiles down upon me lol. Cheers!

Thanks for sharing about your experience. I appreciated the photos and what they meant to you.

This reminds me that often times there are things in front of us that are very valuable. The important thing is that we go and look for them. Sometimes you will be suprised and find a treasure hidden in plain sight.

Thank you very much. There are times we often look too hard but sometimes what we are looking for might just be in front of us.

So cool to see all these different items. Looking through different ceramics like these is always fun! Thanks for sharing :)

It was enjoyable going thru those piles looking for that special item.

SO MANY treasures here! Mu hubby would spend days here browsing! He loves these types of stores.. and he always seems to find some item to buy.

There were so many things I wanted to buy lol. We just had a budget enough for the plates. I wanted the figurine by the santa so bad haha. Hope it is still there when we come back.

Great photos @watersnake101! Wow that's a lot of stuff to sort through, especially if you are looking for something specific.

Hey thanks. There were a lot if plates and bowls. All piled up careful not to break stuff lol.

ah its one of my favourite things to do is browse 2nd hand or junk shops as we sometimes describe them here in the UK. I'd love to have a rummage through 2nd hand japanese trinkets, bet theres some beautiful items.
I got to the end of your post and realised you havent shown us the plates you went out looking for!

Funny that you mentioned. With all the cool stuff I saw I missed to include the real reason why I went to this shop. Thanks for expressing interest. IMG_20180610_082911.jpg Those two little ones I got as a freebie 😊
IMG_20180610_082843.jpg

Congratulations @watersnake101, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Thanks you so much for the support.

I love going through these kind of shops! This japanese shop is huge and so many things to see! It might take me weeks to get through!

By the way, I admire your respect for his culture when you blurred his face.

I mean how could you resist the pinball machine hand all of the amazing things that they have in the shop? I really liked all the vases that are available, there is something from everywhere. From the outside it doesn't look that big but when you showed me inside, wow! It was funny that they would sell broken things but I guess if you can fix it come it would be quite a bargain.

It is in these kind of places that I think they match up things with people that want them. A

little something for everybody and then some.

They were pots and pots and pots. Do you need the pot?

This was absolutely fabulous and I am glad that you took us with you. I think I could find dozens of dishes here and I am sure that you found the perfect one. You could have even had food on it if you wanted it.

Upped and steemed

@dswigle It was huge like the one I see on the movies where all the action happens where the heroes rescue the hostage. I wasn't able to go thru all the areas. Indeed there is something for everyone there. If you noticed from the outside there were also other stuff. Like baby strollers, golf clubs, old luggage which I did not include. There are a lot of shops like this in our area but so for this is the largest one I have seen.

The vases each has a character of its own some sells around $20. As for the dishes I think it took like a good hour or so going thru the piled up ceramics careful not to break them lol. I posted the plates on the comments below.

Thanks a lot for checking and will keep my eye out if I see anything other cool shops. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75