You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why it's Not the Boys in the Above Picture Who Grow Up to be School Shooters

in #masculinity6 years ago

It may or may not be classifiable as such, but it does more harm than good to scapegoat the "mentally ill" when 99% of the time they are just another marginalized group of people in need of help. You should create a new category called "evil sons a bitches" and put the corporate warlords and school shooters in there instead.

Sort:  

I actually get your point, and I think it’s a valid one. Upvoted for that reason.

Thanks, I appreciate the discourse. I can pick apart the pro-gun garbage posted in the comments section here some other time or on another post as well, but for now I must tend to other things ;)

Out of curiosity how do you feel about the actual hate-mongering and abuse that this thread has caused by one of your supporters? (not putting you on blast or anything, just genuinely curious how you feel about censorship and assaulting minorities)

I've been so goddamn sick these past few days, I didn't even open Steemit yesterday. I'll read through what happened here at a better time.

lol np, get better mate ;P

Thanks! I feel better now, still a little weak. I just have stuff to do I wasn't able to do yesterday. I coughed so much, I actually threw up. I guess the cough was hard enough to trigger the vomit reflex. That hasn't happened before.

oof, I haven't been that sick in a few years myself

As for your comment. I read the whole thing now.

I think there was a miscommunication in regards of the terms being used. I tend to agree that "mentally ill" is probably too broad of a term to use. It covers way too much ground, and you were right to bring that up, in my opinion.

There's an obvious difference between sociopaths willing to harm people and, say, people with eating disorders.

So, I stand corrected there.

I'm of the attitude that people can use their stake as they see fit, but personally, I would not have flagged you.

I knew you followed me, and when I made this post, I did think about you probably having things to say. I was pleasantly surprised by the fact that it turned out to be good dialogue, in my opinion.

I'm conservative-leaning myself, but if bullshit like "queer kids" being bullied and tortured takes place, I'm the first to stand by their side, personally. And I'm not saying that in the condescending tone of "queer kids" needing the mighty straight white man to stand up to them. It's just not part of a mature society to have stuff like that take place.

I'm also happy to have someone like you following me, instead of every follower being of the same mindset as me because the latter only leads to circle jerk.

So, I had zero problems with you disagreeing with me and stating your case.

Judging by my experience in this thread, I'm probably going to be hesitant to contribute much in the future. I love having conversations with people, especially those that are open-minded and I feel that there can be a lot of constructive things to be discussed between people of sharply differing mindsets, but one major problem with Steemit that I now realize is that it's filled with yesmen and group-think. The people that tend to follow others tend to be part of a hive-mind, and I figured Steemit may be different from other social networks, but it's unfortunately not. In fact, I'd reckon it's most likely significantly worse here than other places because money is involved. People love to chase upvotes by impressing people with more money than them, I remember you saying you did the same thing with Dan years ago and so forth. Dissenting thought is dangerous, and when interacting with people who have the capabilities of completely destroying my work on the platform who also are proven to be irrational and unstable, it's terrifying.

I'm not saying you should change anything, but I'm just airing my thoughts and letting you know I may not jump in similar threads in the future, I have many experiences being targeted by people online and don't want to risk anything that can affect me monetarily given that as I stand currently Steemit is a decent chunk of my total income at the moment.

I like the stuff you do for the most part, even if I don't agree, but I may have to step back a bit going forward if things look like they may be unsafe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85