You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective: Heart Health with Fire Cider & Power Packed Salad

This salad looks soooo goood! No wonder he asks for it every day. :))

I like the addition of flower petals to your fire cider. It not only gives it a nice color, but you get the bonus of added nutrients.

Do you make fire cider ahead and store it for winter, with the petals,etc? If so, how much do you make to get through the year?

Sort:  

I actually make it seasonally. In the Autumn I will used things like nasturtium seeds, rose hips and other autumn ingredients and this usually carries us through to spring. Spring time is more spruce tips, chaga and more woodsy ingredients and then summer is more like what I shared today. I also sometimes use berries and I think I forgot to mention that in the post.

I really love making it so I try to make sure to get in 3-4 different batches each year.

I do purchase our ginger - it's the one thing I can't do without and we've had no luck growing it (I am trying again at the moment). We always seem to have plenty of garlic, horseradish and onions so the core ingredients we always have on hand.

I make the apple cider vinegar in the Autumn with the apple harvest. That stores forever and is such a vital ingredient that I make huge batches of it.

I may have killed my ginger by forgetting to open the hoophouse one day. :((

I also make our apple cider vinegar from our apples for the year.

I don't grow horseradish. I love it, but my stomach doesn't. :((

I'm going to have to get cracking and get some batches made. Every year I say I'm going to, and never get to it....

Oh no! I hope some of it bounces back for you. I bought some ginger that was sprouting so I have my fingers crossed that I will get some going. I do hope you try the fire cider we absolutely love it. There's so much goodness in every spoon full!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65