Cannibal Corpse (band): Their early work was tough for me to like, try as i did

in #metal6 years ago

This is in relation to their stuff up to 1995, which was when i was introduced to them. They changed singers in 1995 and to be honest I never knew this until it was pointed out to me a few days ago. That being said, I found it very difficult to get on board with CC because of their old singer.

1000x1000.jpg

Cannibal Corpse has been around for a long time (since 1988) and they have 14 albums with a total global sales of over 2 million copies. It has been stated that this makes them the best-selling death-metal act of all time but I question the validity of this. It is difficult to tell with death metal because there are so many sub-genres and arguments over who goes into which category that even fans like me have a difficult time keeping up with all the various labels.

The reason why I didn't care much for Corpse is because their vocals were just boring in my mind. Their old singer Chris Barnes had an extremely low pitched voice for death metal. He was the Barry White of the un-understandable lyrics world. With other acts you have a chance of understanding some of the stuff and that is part of the fun. There is no chance you are going to understand anything Barnes is singing and it simply ends up sounding like Cookie Monster mumbling (which is what his vocal style has actually been compared to)

you-nevee-go-fuil-cookie-monster-cannibal-corpse-and-necrophagist-25508497.png

They also had rather far fetched and kind of disgusting lyrics if you ever bothered to look into the album sleeve in order to read it (because there is no chance you would know them otherwise.) I definitely needed to hide this album from my parents because they certainly would have had a problem with it even though I didn't know it was going to be like that and i would likely be wrongfully accused of doing something bad had my album "Tomb of the Mutilated" been discovered.

Here is a sample of one of their better songs for you to get an idea about what it is to have Cookie sing for your band. This is arguably their most famous early work.

So there you have it. I am not afraid to say that I do not like their early work at all. I tried to and they remain legends of Tampa to this day. Now that i have learned that they changed singers in 1995 perhaps I will go back and give a few of those albums a listen.

Sort:  

I am a big fan of the brutal death subgenre but I could never get into this band's brand of gore, even though similar bands like Devourment gets on heavy rotation in my playlist.

Oh and check this out.

oh man, that made my night... thanks!

Hah nice review Dude! I’ve seen cannibal corpse live, about 7 years back, it was great ! I’m not the biggest fan, and I think for the same reason as you. I love metal by the way, but the vocals are a bit too consistently the same and sometimes are very rhythmic but not as often as I’d hope!

If you wana check out the new singer and newer song, listen to “priests of sodom” I like that song. Still, you may think the same of the vocals!

Also, it’s sometimes a good thing we can’t undestand the lyrics, sometimes they’re sickening! It got really bad in the early 2000s with all of the “grindcore” vocalists - they were always singing about brutally murdering women (I loosely use the term singing haha)

Great band!🤘 A friend told me that some of their albums had been censored and banned in several countries time ago.

it wouldn't surpise me... Even though they obviously don't do any of the things in their songs the subject matter is beyond disturbing. So much so that I won't even go into details about what it is. However, i can't believe anyone could ever understand the lyrics :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

hey guy!
im a girl from viet nam and im a new member. i don't now how to make money from steemit. i need somebody help me.not a vote just a advice. thanks a lot.
finaly. my english skill is not good and i want to improve it.i need some friend talk about every thing with me.
thanks you..hihi. have a nice day.
from girl viet nam

2 million copies were sold out, that sounds surprising.
You don't like cannible corpse because of the low pitched voice, and i think you are really right. It's really boring.

I have no idea about cannibal corpse. Still read your post. I got hold of your post about Cannibal Corpse. Now I want to take some more about this. Anyway I'll take a look at this band's video from youtube. Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56