You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reincarnation as mentioned in the Bible and Bhagavad - Gita

in #mindfullife5 years ago

You know, reincarnation is something I have always struggled with. Perhaps it is my cynical, logical and scientific part of me (although that isnt necessarily a precursor for disbelief of anything). Yet i am certain its because I am not as well studied on it as I would like to be. My friend (the one who is a senior vip teacher) tells me it is hard for her NOT to believe in it, and of course if you meditate the way we do we know that the state of mind at the point of death is important for how we enter the next one. Im hedging my bets I suppose, if that makes sense. Whether or not we reincarnate seems irrelevant to me, its kinda an extrinsic motivator to live well. I can see the importance of kindness, compassion and love in this one precious life, I guess.

I wonder what I will believe in the next lifetime ;)

Sort:  

Hm. I find it interesting that you say the scientific part of you is the part which has trouble with reincarnation. Imo, science can explain reincarnation. The first law of thermodynamics states that energy can not be created nor destroyed. Everything we are is energy. Upon death, our physical energies (matter) reincarnates as it decays and gives rise to new life. Our "etheral" energies (consciousness and spirit (spirit is a bit more abstract and not easily grasped in empiricism so we'll leave it out for now) are given back to the pool of energies which give rise to consciousness in the first place. We are beginning to understand consciousness as something of a quantum field which gives rise to existence - but its yin/yang in the fact that existence also gives rise to consciousness. This would be where we return to and eventually depart from as we are given new life. Imo, its the Spirit, or the spark that gives life to all which goes on for reincarnation and the consciousness dissolves into a "memory bank", something like the new age Akashic Records.

What interests me is that I believe time to be cyclical, all things repeating - perhaps slightly different each time, but repeating nonetheless. That said - one individual would eventually experience the life of all all points of consciousness throughout the universe. So, things like past life recall are interesting to me... what's to say that we've not all already been one another?

I feel like I made no sense XD

wow I understood what you are saying it makes sense to me x

No no you did, perfectly. Tbh as I wrote that my scientific side wasnt sure, I had a strong feeling that wasnt quite right either. I think quantum physics actually starts to touch some of the more 'esoteric' understandings in a way regular science hasn't been able to, but I live with a quantum physicist who would likely refute that. It might be this afternoons conversation..I often ask him these kinds of things that come up on steemit! I struggle with where consciousness goes... on one level we are simply meat, which decays and enters back into the universe as matter in various forms and I am good with that. My mind grapples with a soul.

Then, I have had an experience or two where past lives (mine) have made sense to me in ways that nothing else does. I was speaking to my reiki healer about it two weeks ago. She was NOT forcing it on me but offered it as a gentle suggestion for what I was experiencing and it made perfect sense to me.

I dont entirely discount anything.. maybe I just need more pieces of the puzzle to slot together for me and read and think about it some more. Believing or not believing has never been a priority of mine. 'Do good now' has always been something that matters... regardless of whether i come back or not and has a simplicity that stops me entering rabbit holes. I have so many rabbit holes to enter. Maybe Im just not smart enough to grasp it.

Posted using Partiko Android

From studying different Dhamma text and having discussions with my husband on dying (@julianhorack, you wrote a real good post on knowing how to die well to live well https://steemit.com/mindfullife/@julianhorack/how-to-make-the-most-of-this-human-form-of-life-keep-the-goal-in-mind) and it was clearly explained to me what happens at the death moment then the next moment is the birth moment where a new life begins (reincarnation) It all tied into Kamma and your state of mind at that death moment and as Julian said learn to die well to live well makes sense to me!

I think you make a lot of sense

We could see it as one long lifetime, with different chapters, that make up the different lives in different bodies. So we still need to live as if there is only the now. And we need to be aware of the repercussions of our actions beyond this body, which, as you say, implies the need to to be conscientious.

The literatures on life and death talk about reincarnation but we have little if any personal experience, is it is hard to believe in reincarnation. Curiously, if there is no reincarnation, then no worries - we die and that's it. If there is reincarnation, then we carry on based on where we left off, so better we act accordingly. The choice is up to the individual. It may be better to prepare and live as if there is reincarnation.

Exactly. Hedging bets. May as well live as if there is reincarnation, because it bodes well for us! Enjoyed thinking upon in again after reading your piece.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good point there about energy simply transforming @alchemage. Here is a story i read today about reincarnation and evidence hat seems to support it: https://articles.spiritsciencecentral.com/past-life/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66