NO PHONE FOR A MONTH, DAY 0 -- THE ORIGIN STORY.

in #mindfulness5 years ago

We spend so much time and energy trying to tame our phone habits -- to make the phone work for us, rather than us slaving away in service of the phone.

mindfulness thumb.png

Yet most people seem unsatisfied -- we seem addicted, trapped, controlled by the very technology that was supposed to liberate us. Internet was meant to usher in utopia, yet we find ourselves weighed down by its chains, stuck at the bottom of the pit with our dreams taunting us from above.

Your phone can look up any fact, any person, any story. But can it help you be happy and free?

This experiment is about challenging the phone, about fighting back, about choosing presence over opportunity, about choosing fulfillment over ubiquity. About being one with existence, mindful, aware, and not trapped in the blinking lights and tones of the cell phone.

Our phones are like a drug, and I am ready to break the addiction. That's why I am presenting this new idea, a series called "NO PHONE FOR A MONTH," where I radically limit my phone usage to just 1-2 hours per week.

Here's the story of how it started:


No Phone For a Month -- Day 0, Journal 1

I turned 28 yesterday & Christine [a really good friend of mine] is here to celebrate for a few days!

Last night we decided to turn off our phones and keep them off all day today. It feels amazing. I have no urge to seek out distractions - no constant anxiety or worrying about pointless BS. Part of that might have to do with Christine being here, but it's definitely something to do with the lack of phone too.

We were talking about starting a more regular no-phone practice - limiting it to 2-3 times per day, 20 minutes per session.

But that doesn't seem extreme enough -- IDK, part of what makes today so special is that the phone plays no part in it. An entire day, from awake to asleep, not worrying.

I am thinking about taking it to a further extreme. Instead of 1-2 times per day, what if I only check my phone 1-2 times per week?

Maybe it would be 1 hour per "session" -- enough time to make a few calls, send some texts... and then to turn the phone off for 72 hours! It sounds crazy, but why shouldn't I try it? What's the worst thing that could happen?

I think there is a chance that this is the simplest way I can profoundly improve my life experience... And if it works, I could experience more joy/peace/clarity with very little active effort.

There is so much energy spent trying to tame the phone, to master the phone, to learn new tricks to manage the phone. Why not just "get rid the phone" so to speak, to make it a non-issue?

I think I should try it, and soon.


What do you think? Have you tried any radical no-phone or no-technology experiments? If you share your story in the comments, I'll tag you in the next post.

Sort:  

But can it help you be happy and free?

Yes, every time I put it in leisure mode. Which for me is mostly DND and means I only pick it up to relax. Which means reading, music and/or chatting.

But no notifications whatsoever at all. Just me time, undisturbed me time.

Doesn't work for me, it's still too easy to get sucked into reading or listening to pointless stuff for hours or just checking the phone every 5-10 minutes in case of texts. But if that works for you that's awesome

I leave my phone off only during the holiday but would love to do that more often. I am more focused on 10 min meditation every day to help me deal with stress and i guess takes me away from the phone too :-)
Nice post!

Thanks for posting great content about "FREEDOM" - one of 5 tags celebrated and supported by @freedomtribe. Your post has been featured in our Spread The Love #32 curation.

We have a new HAPPINESS Challenge, with BIG prizes and a special COMMUNITY GIVEBACK, being announced this coming weekend. Please follow @freedomtribe so you can be one of the first to enter - our sponsor is putting up STEEM prizes for the first entries. Get in early!!

Join us on the Freedom Tribe Discord to learn more!

freedom_banner2.jpg

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

cool, thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94