You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Four Noble Truths

in #mindfulness6 years ago

Well @reddust thats a pretty good post. Looks like we're in charge of our own happiness doesn't it? Strange how even after all these years (about 25) I still find myself praying to an unknown god to grant me what I wish. Old, old, imprinted habits I suppose. I do believe I lived several lifetimes as a Catholic priest, monk, and Abbot. Thats probably where most of the automatic response comes from. Blessings. Here is my favorite Buddha quote: You have to let go of that shit!

Sort:  

I knew of God when I was 3 years old and my family didn't go to church! I could feel the force of love and wonder everywhere, I loved church as a child and went by myself to a church by my house...but as an adult I realized God wasn't in the church or in the bibles words. But God couldn't take my ignorance and conditioning away no matter how many times I was baptized. I realized that I had to do that myself and maybe then I could truly see God when I stopped blindly reacting from old conditioning. I haven't seen God but I know one thing for sure, I am not what I think, I am not this changing body, I am not my likes or dislikes...and I still feel God all around me <3

I went through a period of about 4 months this past year, before getting into Steemit, where I dedicated myself to spiritual path and little else. it was a remarkable time for me. I was able to very clearly know that this life is not who I am, it's one big story (as I call it) but an important one nevertheless. And came to understand and see so much. I've wondered how much I can share here on Steemit or even if I should. Probably won't share much at all. I always wondered why the great masters never told the "good stuff" to the public. Very simply: the public could not understand it, and for the most part are either very biased or don't care, or both. But I was fortunate enough to tie into some of the awe inspiring wonders of higher consciousness. I was warned that for those of us who live on the Path out in the world it is common that we cannot maintain that level of consciousness all the time, so was ready for the fall from grace, so to speak; but find the idea of being a monk rather appealing. Highly unlikely that I will though.

Cool though that you had the "gift", so to speak, from your earliest days, and great that you've found a Path that maintains the connection to God. Blessings.

@mistermercury, I remember the days of wonder, I was first introduced to the bliss and delight of letting go back in the early 90s...eventually this passes. I found some writings about the Nana Vipassanas that helped me stay steady through the bewilderingment of access concentration and the amazing things that followed...and I mean amazing mindblowing insights...

For a long time I had no clue what was happening because I was afraid to tell my teachers about all the lights, bliss, furious need to learn about what Buddha taught...I was driven and couldn't quench my thirst..Thank goodness all this stuff calms down eventually.

http://www.vipassanadhura.com/sixteen.html

Indeed, we could have a lively conversation couldn't we. I've been on the Path for about 10 years now. Anyway, tired. Blood sugar going crazy. Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62947.22
ETH 3174.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81