The Four Noble Truths

in #mindfulness6 years ago (edited)

THE FIRST NOBLE TRUTH

The four noble truths in Buddhism are at the core of the Buddha’s teachings. It encompasses the truth about why we suffer and what it is, what causes this suffering and where it originates from, that there is a way to get rid of the suffering and it’s causes, and that there is a noble way of practices to be followed that will lead to the cessation of suffering and to a taintless way of being that is no longer bound to the suffering way of life and becoming.

Not knowing the Four Noble Truths is what keeps us back:

“Monks, it is because of not understanding and not penetrating the Four Noble Truths that you and I have roamed and wandered through this long course of samsara [cycle of becoming and suffering].” — SN V.431

And with the understanding of the Four Noble Truths, one establishes Right View, that is the start of the noble Eight-fold Path:

“When, friends, a noble disciple understands suffering, the origin of suffering, the cessation of suffering, and the way leading to the cessation of suffering, in that way he is one of right view… and has arrived at this true Dhamma.” — MN I.48

So, in a step by step manner, the Buddha explains what each truth is about and how these truths relate to each other:

1. FIRST NOBLE TRUTH: The Noble Truth of Suffering (dukkha)


  • “And what is suffering?
  • Birth is suffering
  • ageing is suffering
  • sickness is suffering
  • death is suffering
  • sorrow, lamentation, pain, grief, and distress are suffering
  • not to obtain what one wants is suffering.

In short, the five aggregates affected by clinging are suffering.” — MN I.48

The Mahasatipatthana Sutta in the Digha Nikaya adds an important explanation to the above quote from the Majjhima Nikaya. Not to obtain what one wants is suffering, but also ‘the association with something that one does not like is suffering’, and the ‘disassociation with something that one does like is suffering.’ Not to gain something you really want leads to suffering, and to lose something that you really like leads to suffering as well. Likes and dislikes stem from the situation where reality of perception does not match a preconceived notion of reality that one favors, or where expectations and outcomes of situations do no line up with the actual results of reality as they happen. The Sutta continues to explain all that what is considered suffering:

“And what, monks, is sorrow? Whenever one, monks, is affected by various kinds of loss and misfortune, that are followed by this or that kind of painful state of mind, by sorrow, by mourning, by sorrowfulness, by inward grief, and by deep inward woe—this, monks, is called sorrow.”

“And what, monks, is lamentation? Whenever one, monks, is affected by various kinds of loss and misfortune, that are followed by this or that kind of painful state of mind, by wailing and crying, by lamentation, by deep wailing, by deep lamentation, by the state of deep wailing and deep lamentation—this, monks, is called lamentation.”

“And what, monks, is pain? If there is, monks, any kind of bodily pain, any kind of bodily unpleasantness or any kind of painful or unpleasant sensation as a result of bodily contact—this, monks, is called pain.”

“And what, monks, is grief? If there is, monks, any kind of mental pain, any kind of mental unpleasantness or any kind of painful or unpleasant sensation as a result of mental contact—this, monks, is called grief.”

“And what, monks, is distress? Whenever one, monks, is affected by various kinds of loss and misfortune, that are followed by this or that kind of painful state of mind, by tribulation, by distress, affliction with distress and affliction with great distress—this, monks, is called distress.”

“And what, monks, is the suffering of being associated with what one does not like? Wherever and whenever one finds unpleasant, disagreeable or disliked objects of sight, sound, smell, taste, touch or of the mind, or, whenever and wherever one finds that there are wishers of one’s own misfortune, harm, difficulties or of one’s own insecurity; if one gets associated, one meets, one comes into contact or gets combined with them—this, monks, is called the suffering of being associated with what one does not like.”

“And what, monks, is the suffering of being disassociated with what one does like? Wherever and whenever one finds pleasant, agreeable or liked objects of sight, sound, smell, taste, touch or of the mind, or, whenever and wherever one finds that there are wishers of one’s own fortune, prosperity, comfort or of one’s own security, like mother and father, like brother and sister, like friends and colleagues or relatives; if one gets disassociated, one does not meet, one does not come into contact or does not get combined with them— this, monks, is called the suffering of being disassociated with what one does like.”

“And what, monks, is not getting what one desires? In beings, monks, who are subject to birth the desire arises: “Oh, truly, that we were not subject to birth! Oh, truly, may there be no new birth for us! ” But this cannot be obtained by mere desire; and not to get what one wants is suffering.” [The same applies to ageing, sickness, death, sorrow, lamentation, pain, grief, and distress]

The whole cycle from birth to death and clinging to these forms of becoming is what makes one suffer, as these five aggregates of becoming are impermanent, subject to change, are not self; and as an object of identity and individuality they cause the person to suffer, when they identify with it as: ’this is what I am.’

“And what, monks, is the noble truth of suffering? It should be said:


The five aggregates subject to clinging; that is,

  • the form aggregate subject to clinging,
  • the feeling aggregate subject to clinging,
  • the perception aggregate subject to clinging,
  • the volitional formations aggregate subject to clinging,
  • the consciousness aggregate subject to clinging.” — SN V.425

In the next part we’ll be discussing the Second Noble Truth.



10 Fold Path Series

EATING MEAT — WHY THE BUDDHA WAS NOT A VEGETARIAN


I will flag comment spam at 1% strength. If you keep on spamming my post, I will flag you at 100%. I don't care if you have limited English abilities, write a couple of sentences about this article, no copy-paste, please. I will flag: one sentence comments, links to your blog and begging for up-votes and follows. Also, I will flag comments that have nothing to do with my blog's article. I will also check your comment section to see if you have been comment spamming on other blogs.

Pictures From Pixabay


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

Firstly I will like to congratulate you on hitting 70rep. Your diligent, generous, kindhearted attitude and hardwork has paid off for you. Been a while now, I haven't seen your post, just a 2 days back I was wondering whether you decided to have a break on steemit and make us hungry by not feeding us with your awesome piece of art and artcicles. I just realized now that I am the one who has not been consistent on steemit due to my exams, fully back now
Back to the topic of the day, today's lesson is indeed an in depth one and on several factual truths of life. The day we realise and do away with things that make us suffer, then we will be truly free from the issues and sorrows of life.
You have opened my eyes through the teaching of Buddhism and I must say thank you for that.

Thank you @cyprianj, You helped me reach my 70 rep, without people commenting and I responding to comemnts the 70 reputation would of never happened. I will be writing a gratitude post this coming week.

It is hard to see that everything we do is through some kind of desire..Meditation helped me back off and see how I was moved like a leaf in the wind to by my conditioned reaction to things I liked or didn't like in this life...

I still haven't figured out how one would move in this world without desire...The Buddhist call this world the desire realm and that makes sense.

I guess we could use the subtle desires to move, compassion, kindness, patience, equanimity, maybe that is what Zen Buddhist mean to move without moving...

There is still a lot I don't know but I am looking forward to finding out.

Intresting how today we do the exact opposite of Buddha's teaching and try to cling as strongly as possible to identity and individuality which makes us suffer more than ever. Thank you for opening my eyes.

You are welcome my friend @eugenekul, these teachings helped me save my life and my families life!

Looking forward to the next part.

Well @reddust thats a pretty good post. Looks like we're in charge of our own happiness doesn't it? Strange how even after all these years (about 25) I still find myself praying to an unknown god to grant me what I wish. Old, old, imprinted habits I suppose. I do believe I lived several lifetimes as a Catholic priest, monk, and Abbot. Thats probably where most of the automatic response comes from. Blessings. Here is my favorite Buddha quote: You have to let go of that shit!

I knew of God when I was 3 years old and my family didn't go to church! I could feel the force of love and wonder everywhere, I loved church as a child and went by myself to a church by my house...but as an adult I realized God wasn't in the church or in the bibles words. But God couldn't take my ignorance and conditioning away no matter how many times I was baptized. I realized that I had to do that myself and maybe then I could truly see God when I stopped blindly reacting from old conditioning. I haven't seen God but I know one thing for sure, I am not what I think, I am not this changing body, I am not my likes or dislikes...and I still feel God all around me <3

I went through a period of about 4 months this past year, before getting into Steemit, where I dedicated myself to spiritual path and little else. it was a remarkable time for me. I was able to very clearly know that this life is not who I am, it's one big story (as I call it) but an important one nevertheless. And came to understand and see so much. I've wondered how much I can share here on Steemit or even if I should. Probably won't share much at all. I always wondered why the great masters never told the "good stuff" to the public. Very simply: the public could not understand it, and for the most part are either very biased or don't care, or both. But I was fortunate enough to tie into some of the awe inspiring wonders of higher consciousness. I was warned that for those of us who live on the Path out in the world it is common that we cannot maintain that level of consciousness all the time, so was ready for the fall from grace, so to speak; but find the idea of being a monk rather appealing. Highly unlikely that I will though.

Cool though that you had the "gift", so to speak, from your earliest days, and great that you've found a Path that maintains the connection to God. Blessings.

@mistermercury, I remember the days of wonder, I was first introduced to the bliss and delight of letting go back in the early 90s...eventually this passes. I found some writings about the Nana Vipassanas that helped me stay steady through the bewilderingment of access concentration and the amazing things that followed...and I mean amazing mindblowing insights...

For a long time I had no clue what was happening because I was afraid to tell my teachers about all the lights, bliss, furious need to learn about what Buddha taught...I was driven and couldn't quench my thirst..Thank goodness all this stuff calms down eventually.

http://www.vipassanadhura.com/sixteen.html

Indeed, we could have a lively conversation couldn't we. I've been on the Path for about 10 years now. Anyway, tired. Blood sugar going crazy. Blessings.

Interesting. .. I guess it is said that suffering is the default truth in life. That why those who are happy should rejoice! As it's not the baseline, but something to constantly work towards each and every day.

The truth is a vague word, what is the default truth? Happiness on a mundane level comes and goes true happiness is beyond the ups and downs of life. As a child I knew nature was indifferent to me or my feelings and so is life. Life does not suffer, what suffers is the clinging aggregates.

Suffering. Short term it hurts but it molds your character hopefully in a good way. I think it all depends on how we deal or react to suffering. Thanks @reddust

That is the truth about karma...it is how you react to what you are going through that will shape your future and who you will be this next moment or next life. ;-)

Wow sir,fantastic follwer and last one is greet

When all the world appears to be in a tumult, and nature itself is feeling the assault of climate change,

These spring flowers are amazing and touché she to the heart. Cause I am also one who loves spring season the most. Spring is always lovable by every person and you made this post with love, the love shows towards flowers.

I heard this on TV:

Pain is unavoidable, suffering is optional.
It's all in the mind!

Much appreciated for sharing this, it's always useful to be reminded of such things. Patterns and sacred geometry are something i focus a lot on and i enjoy the synchronicity within buddhism. Much love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79