A Day To Remember

in #mindset5 years ago

Hello Steemians.

Today am going to look at a day of remarkable occurrence/event. People always thought of a particular event, one that they can never forget in life. Some, after some times would never recollected such incidence any longer.

Human memory, in psychology, is the ability to take in information, store it, recall it at a later time. If this is true why are we usually forgetting some crucial events in our lives?

Recently, I read about a doctor who almost died while jet skiing. Apparently, he swore never to repeat such an act but read his account of the event here:

"Last month, I went jet-skiing off the coast of Cannes in Southern France. I was having way too much fun, my adrenaline was in overdrive, and I suddenly felt invincible. So I decided to drive as close as possible to a white cruise ship mooring quite close to land. Bad idea!

As I moved farther from the coast, the water became increasingly choppier and the waves became extremely boisterous. All of a sudden, a rogue wave lifted me clear of the Jet Ski; I floated in the air for what seemed like an eternity; and finally landed heavily on the side of the Jet Ski. I almost broke my back and I was so far from land that I thought I was going to die. Fortunately, my life jacket kept me alive long enough for the lifeguard to rescue me. I’ll never forget his heavily accented wisecrack, “Dude, I just saved your life.”

“Dude, I just saved YOUR LIFE.”

The incident got me thinking a bit more seriously about MY LIFE. What is the goal of MY LIFE? What am I doing with MY LIFE? What am I trying to achieve with MY LIFE? I still don’t have all the answers but I have started making some changes.

The first change I made was a conscious decision to think more carefully about what is important to me. Human beings are social creatures so we often interpret our values as a social construct. But true values are deeply personal. I have decided to review, identify and live my personal values while walking away from societal expectations and value systems.

Second, I decided to enjoy this life a little more. Life (especially financial life) exists on a continuum between Saving For Tomorrow (SFT) and You Only Live Once (YOLO). I have lived the first part of my life on the SFT end of the continuum but have now decided to YOLO a little more often after walking away from that Jet Ski accident.

Small caveat: everyone is at a different stage of life. Some people need more SFM while others would do better to YOLO a little more.

Third, I have decided to maximize my abilities. I have been quite complacent in the past few years since I stopped working full time. I have decided to shift gears in a bid to maximize my potentials. I plan to invest a lot more in people and to become the best I could possibly be. Entrepreneurship and politics will define this new phase, and I am excited to give it my 100%.

Fourth, I plan to be more careful with MY LIFE. The next time I Jet ski, I am doing it JayZ-style – with a nerdy but potentially lifesaving helmet. If JayZ can get away with a helmet, why can’t I?

Life is a precious gift. What are you doing with YOUR LIFE?"

Is this true that this incidence can never happen again or is he now more careful in life than what he used to be?

Nevertheless, life is good. To protect it, one might lose it and to live recklessly, same thing might happen. In all these, there is one sure way to insure this life. One might think of anything spiritual, and that is it.

God made life and so if God demands it, who can question Him. People of different ages experience same cold hands of death and yet others are doubting God's supremacy. What a world, we lived in.

There is another way human may not recall incidences, this is known as transition. Actually, you might think of a change of state, from one state to another.

But, this is death. Here, no one knows anything. Not even being able to recall whether he/she lived before.

Psalm 90:10 (KJV) The days of our years are threescore years and ten; and if by reason of strength they be fourscore years, yet is their strength labour and sorrow; for it is soon cut off, and we fly away.

There is an interval given to all human to operates around the world. This period of time is not to be wasted but if you are doing what you are doing to show there is no need to use this moment meaningfully, who will you blame?

Will you remember today? The future is now and tomorrow is here. Do you think you will remember that terrible incidence, will you survive to tell the story like Dr. T Oyedeji. Why not do good?

Thank you all for reading and don't forget to "do good" at all the time, it pays. Cheers!!!

@bernard4ve

Screenshot_20190205-223322_1549402922813.png

Screenshot_20190205-224943.pngScreenshot_20190205-224607_1549403208829.pngScreenshot_20190205-225241_1549403600675.png

Sort:  

What am I doing with my life? I did and do mostly what I do not like. Working 60-80 hours to keep me and my kids alive, big lack of sleep and always sick.
That is all I have after a childhood of being molested. There won't be more either, simply because it is over if it comes to my body. Friends leave if you can not help them out (financially too). I am not attached to life and I do not see it as a gift.

Sounds to me after reading your Jet ski adventure you had plenty of YOLO so I wonder what makes you think you had not.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @wakeupkitty yes, to work for money mostly entails doing what do not like. Nature is kind to all but you must allow it before its works for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76