MinnowBooster has a new trick up its sleeve - Mentionator

in #minnowbooster7 years ago (edited)

Ever wanted to know when you're mentioned by another user on Steem? Mentionator is a brand new feature from Minnowbooster that does exactly that!

Ears ringing? Want to know whether people are being naughty or nice? Give the new @mentionator service a go and find out!

Here are a few mentions that our lead developer @reggaemuffin has received in the past few days...

https://www.minnowbooster.net/users/reggaemuffin/mentions

This is brand new service so we will be constantly updating and improving it - let us know if there is anything else you'd like to receive notifications about!

Just insert your Steem account into this url and open it in your internet browser -
https://www.minnowbooster.net/users/yoursteemaccount/mentions

Mentionator is a subscription service costing 1 STEEM or SBD per month. If you don't want to pay, you can still see your last three mentions, but premium users get the last 14 days worth of mentions and can even enter their email to receive email notifications when new mentions come in!

Just send 1 STEEM or 1 SBD to the mentionator Steem account to get started with these awesome premium features.

Don't want to subscribe for the whole month? Just send 0.50 SBD or STEEM and you can try the service out for 14 days.


Provide us with feedback

We are happy to hear your feedback about where we can improve.

Minnowbooster Discord - Join our Discord for support and to connect with us

We are always looking to improve @minnowbooster and try to keep you up-to-date whenever something changes. If you have any suggestions about what we should change or add to @minnowbooster, then please write us a comment :) If you make a great suggestion and we implement it, you may even get rewarded with BUILDTEAM ... So make sure you include your Bitshares username with your suggestion!

Don't have a Bitshares account? Create one here.

Missed the BuildTeam announcement? Here's all the juicy details.


And last but not least, here's our cute little footer made by the most epic @ryivhnn! Yes, there are cute little minnows floating around!


Minnowbooster is a @buildteam project by @thecryptodrive @cryptomancer and @reggaemuffin


This is a @steemvoter subscription payment post. Thank you to Steemvoter customers for allowing us to use your Steem accounts to upvote this post by virtue of your free subscription to the Steemvoter.com bot service. @steemvoter is proudly a @buildteam subsidiary and sister project to @steemsports and @minnowbooster.

Sort:  

Great idea for a tool, I will check it out. Is there also plans for some kind of notification when someone follows? Would be nice two find out who just followed in just a click.

The esteem app has that. But we can surely do email notifications for events you want :)

Would you like to get emails immediately or a summary each day?

I guess the best would be if users could decide as @thecryptodrive suggested. But for me it would work with a summary each day. Fantastic response time on my comment, thanks!

Thank you a lot for your feedback! Mentionator will most likely evolve into a full suite of events you want to be notified of. All feedback helps to see what is needed the most at the moment :)

I was actually wondering if we can get SP delegation from @minnowbooster for a limited fee or start free for a limited time then charges fee.. It would be very helpful for minnows to boost themselves up a bit. I know there are open requests, but I don't have the SBD to pay as a new user.
Anyway, Thanks @reggaemuffin for the brilliant bot :)

Sorry, I take that back. Just found that I can lease SP from @minnowbooster.
Thanks again :)

Look at that support! straight onto it!

How about each user can decide, I think LinkedIn has those options.

Yeah follow notifications is a great idea for opt in ... oh and lets get nasty and get un-follows too! @reggaemuffin

The esteem app notifies you of follows and unfollows. It also notifies you of mentions in both posts and comments but it fails to load the post if you are not following the account where you were mentioned, like one of those "daily pay out ranks by category" posts. Technically you could use the esteem app to get the notification, and then if your quick about it use the free service being offered here to see the post. I did that just this morning for my wife's account.

Good idea! I'll probably add the whole range of events and users can select which ones they want.

I am thinking this will be the best way to reach to whales or steemit board to listen to us when we have issues we need to solve. As new user, there are multiple difficulties that face us and it would be great to have someone to listen and response too.
Thanks again :)

According to this post https://steemit.com/steemwatch/@void/steemwatch-update-2017-08-22
You will soon be able to get these notifications for free on telegram.

soon™️ (until then you need to set up a slack server or give away your steemit.chat password it seems).

Actually, come to think of it @clayop already developed one for telegram called noteefi. No charge for that either.

https://telegram.me/noteefi_bot

Cool, will try that out :)

Yes, I'm using Noteefi for a couple of months now and very happy for what it does. But it still have no way to give notifications for Follows & Unfollows.

Mentionator will soon add telegram support and follow support. Many people requested it so that will be our first addition after daily summaries.

The more functionality the better :)

I get those on my steemwatch app.

Sadly noteefi does not show you mentions in comments, only in posts. But I have to say, their service is pretty cool!

That's a cool idea, will add that to the todo list :)

Awesome to see suggestions being acted on so quickly. :)

Nice:-) Thanks!

Nice comment @kerlund74 ...if you get more info remember to share wirh me...tks;)

I will try to remember that @kenhudoy, thanks!

Welcome and do find time to check my blog posts

Use esteem app from playstore

Its hard for a new steemian to pay for it.

I checked this out and I am considering the premium features! Seems cheap and price can only go up.

Here's an upvote with enough to try the service :)

No no I want to help him. <3

giving you back 5c

This act of generosity is awesome to see. :)

Well now, you made your case. I'll apply later today.

Buzzbeer! Pop a brewski and watch the mentions roll in buddy.

Oh wow, talk about service with a smile. :D

Here's a service that does the same thing for free.

https://steemwatch.com/home

Sure but you have to keep that page open for it to work. Mentionator works in the background and never misses a mention.

No you don't have to keep it open at all. It is a notification service for whatever you want notifications for including menions of any accounts you choose. Real time notification of ALL your mentions. I've been using it for a year.

Yeah I tried it when I started on steem set up many things but never got any email. Do you have to create a slack channel to actually get notifications? Or how does it work?

I set up a slack channel yes. I spoke to the developer about making it work on discord and he said if there is a demand he will be adding it to the program.

Yeah I think most users don't want to set up a discord/slack server or so. They just want to get an email when something happens. Or a website where they can check on what happened.

I like that steemwatch offer many different types of events to be notified of, so I will most likely add support for most of these too. Supporting slack/discord/telegram push is not that hard, I.ll look into that too.

I would hate to get an email for every notification personally. That's why I have all my notifications set up on one app that I can mute and check in on at any time.

I have huge respect for the many developers of apps for the STEEM blockchain. Mainly because they invest their own time, building these apps for the people to use freely, only in the hopes that it will increase the chance of their investments making them good returns. By improving user satisfaction, they help grow the platform and usually that's all they care about, based on the lack of charges and using rewards from other stakeholders as payment.

No offense, but being upvoted at 100% by the account makes this look like another advertisement on the trending page. Why not deny payout if you are seeking "customers" for a service that could have been offered for free like many others before you?

Good service, but I don't need this.

good post

just wow.... So with premium I can get like emails? :D that's next gen. Keep good work guys, I'm as beginner just gonna understand how minnowboost works and

Yeah if you have mentionator premium and I comment with @denis231 then you got an email saying:

@reggaemuffin mentioned you:
Yeah if you have mentionator premium and I comment with @denis231
click here to see it :)

It's similar to YouTube feature, but on email :) Yeah it helps to communicate more with people here. Does it work on dtube too?

It works on steem, so all comments will work, regardless of the commenter using steemit busy esteem or dtube :)

my music is the 🏀Sack of the world

I have been waiting for this. I cant stand when I get a notification that I was mentioned , and cant see what was said.

We will even show you a preview of the part where you were mentioned ;) And we tell you if someone edits your mention in later, so you will never miss it.

Glad we can be of service! :)

Nice gonna try this soon

Damn, that's a great tool! Really improving the overall experience!

Awesome, love to see the freebie 'trial' version that let you see a few mention just to get a taste of this service. If I like this I will definitely subby up. Thanks for sharing!!

The free version is really useful if you want to check the newest mentions on the go without being logged in.

I am using the email notifications and I have to say they are really helpful. Kinda want to pat myself on the back for developing this but that would be kind of weird :D

not weird at all, there's even a device developed for that

back.jpg

How about I give you a pat on the back instead? Pat pat Job well done. I like it.

Perhaps being able to whitelist / blacklist the email notifs per user would be good.

Just incase you get a spammer or troll hitting you up hard. :)

Good idea, that definitely comes on the list!

I'm definitely going to try the Premium Version :) Really curious to see how it works as it's for sure a missing function on Steemit so far.

Awesome, you will be among our first customers, honoured to have you.

Customer Nr. 3 in case I count correctly without the staff ;) Sounds good somehow. But now I really have to check it out in Detail :)

Give it a test run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68